Performance issues

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:54 pm

I notice lots of people reporting performance issues lately, I have been as well. I'm wondering if something changed (in C2 or chrome) that caused this or am I just late to the party? Also, I notice that when I run the game windowed in a lower resolution that it runs great. @Ashley, would it be possible to make it so the player can set resolution if performance is bad on their device or is there already a way to do this that I am missing. Thanks, Morgan.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,964

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:35 pm

I've mostly just seen people asking questions. If you have any specifics or demos to profile I could try to comment on them.

'Low quality' fullscreen mode does a low-res render which is cheaply scaled up.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:41 pm

You can also use the set canvas size action, combined with the set layout scale, to have multiple "base resolutions" instead of just the window size itself

I think being able to set the base resolution for the low quality would be a nice addition though, as this trick with the set canvas size feels kind of "hacky".
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
52
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,093

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:33 am

@Aphrodite - thanks. I will try that. I also agree that easily being able to change those settings would be nice. @Ashley - I'd like to send you my capx - maybe you could give me a few pointers.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,964


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HenryPK, newt, tarek2 and 4 guests