Performance?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:26 am

I noticed when I made an EXE file of my current project (Chamber) it runs at about half the framerate that it does if I just run the layout from within Construct. Is this normal? I have never noticed it before...

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:09 am

ouch hmm what could be causing it? youve got the framerate vsynced right?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:47 am

[quote="Highimpact":3rbydlee]ouch hmm what could be causing it? youve got the framerate vsynced right?[/quote:3rbydlee]

Yeah I left it at default settings, so it should be fine? It's only on Chamber that it's happening, but I haven't tried to rebild EXEs for anything else yet.

I'm gonna try it on my other PC later and see if the problem is still there.

It's weird though because if I run it through Construct it's fine, but if I build the EXE and run it, the framerate is bad. :(

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:49 am

Have you sent the EXE to someone else to see what happens?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 92
Reputation: 1,384

Post » Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:27 am

I just figured out what was causing it... stupid Dreamscape. As soon as I paused the Dreamscene it started running 3x better. LOL idiot.

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:06 pm

Whats dreamscape/dreamscene?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:07 am

[quote="SoldjahBoy":3edsfxv4]I just figured out what was causing it... stupid Dreamscape. As soon as I paused the Dreamscene it started running 3x better. LOL idiot.[/quote:3edsfxv4]

I am able to quote myself for this one! Although search failed to find me the post :(

"Dreamscene is the devil."

It's so true it hurts!

[quote="Highimpact":3edsfxv4]Whats dreamscape/dreamscene?[/quote:3edsfxv4]

Besides "the devil," it is a Vista Ultimate feature for animated desktop wallpapers (just a movie file that plays fullscreen).
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 391
Reputation: 2,432

Post » Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:40 pm

eww, as cool as it seems if its gonna take that much to use it I dont think its worth it.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:56 am

[quote="Highimpact":2z1ze3jm]eww, as cool as it seems if its gonna take that much to use it I dont think its worth it.[/quote:2z1ze3jm]

It only affects things on the laptop... if your computer is good enough it won't phase anything. Besides, it's meant to auto-pause itself when you run a 3D accelerated app... but for some reason it decided it wanted to keep playing.

Has some nice effects though... worth checking out for the wow factor at least.

~Sol

P.S. Sorry to bump this useless thread
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:23 am

So like, I could... put porn on my desktop??? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,778

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests