Physics bug?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 2:35 pm

This is pretty weird, I just enlarged my layout to 20000x15000, and after I walk a certain distance from the corner, all physics objects freeze in the air the moment they're created.
It's like some invisible border that disables any physics objects created beyond it.

I'd post an example, but my .cap will be hard to strip down.. :?

Anyone else experiencing something similiar?
B
2
G
4
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,138

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 3:23 pm

I think i reported this some time before xmas. It's not a bug. The physics engine has a world-size that you can't change. I don't remember if they where going to do anything about it though..
B
8
S
2
G
5
Posts: 744
Reputation: 3,288

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 3:56 pm

Yeah, there's a fixed world size limit. I think changing the world X/Y scale might increase/decrease the boundary...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 5:06 pm

Ashley, is that something we can do on our end or something you'll experiment with for future versions?
just out of curiousity, why was this limitation put in place?
B
2
G
4
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,138

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 7:51 pm

Another annoying physics bug: Set force seems to work like add force. My object accelerates with it.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 110
Reputation: 1,670

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 8:00 pm

If you continually set a force, the object accelerates, according to F=ma. That's normal - you stop applying a force when you want the object to stop accelerating.

I didn't want to enforce a fixed limit, but Newton imposes its own world size limit. The limit I came up with was arbitrary. It's a few thousand pixels in each axis at least.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 9:20 pm

So as it is now, it's pretty much impossible to use physics in scrolling games?
B
2
G
4
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,138

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 9:23 pm

Depends on if your definition of impossible relies on a 20000 width layout. I guess :P.

Chipmunk physics may not have this limit, so it may be gone in future.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 10:21 pm

Well, it gets disabled after only about 2000 or so pixels so it's kinda crippling in that regard :)
Luckily I didn't integrate physics TOO much into my game yet.. it was just kind of disappointing to finally start building a level and then suddenly find out I can't use physics anymore.

Ah well, maybe it's for the best. I'll try to work around it..
B
2
G
4
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1,138

Post » Sat May 31, 2008 10:24 pm

Ah really? Didn't realise it was as low as 2000. Guess that needs changing somehow.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests