Physics Change based on FPS

Post your own tutorials, guides and demos.

Post » Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:47 pm

I made this small cap to show that the FPS drastically changes the way the Physics behavior works. Try it with various FPS settings.

I noticed this when I tried running my main project on an older computer.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,118

Post » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:08 pm

Ola amigos, want to buy some Jumping Bricks?


Fiesta!!!! :mrgreen:

ps. This been taken at 200fps (60hz monitor refresh)
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 719
Reputation: 2,938

Post » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:20 pm

you're right.
I tried several things to stabilize the physics at low framerates, and nothing seems to do the trick. in general, I think at this point physics can only be used for cool effects. It would be a bad idea to make a physics based game. There's alot of glitchy things about physics. I use it alot to make things look cool, but I wouldn't be trying to make the next 'world of goo' with it.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:22 pm

Application properties -> Advanced -> Override Time Delta

And its fixed :mrgreen:
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 719
Reputation: 2,938

Post » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:17 pm

...or alternatively, set a minimum FPS (in the same options area). This avoids problems associated with overriding TimeDelta, since it doesn't tie your game speed to your refresh rate. 60 seems to work well!

Of course, you're still going to get slowdown where you would have had glitchiness before - but if you're overloading the computer, it has to slow down or skip stuff, those are really the only options.
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 113
Reputation: 2,101

Post » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:18 pm

[quote="Doppel":246s9nkd]Application properties -> Advanced -> Override Time Delta

And its fixed :mrgreen:[/quote:246s9nkd]

Then the game will run in slowmo :(

Everything in my main project is based on the physics.

Hopefully this will get fixed soon, in the mean time I will have to stick to testing it on a fast enough machine.

ps
The jumping beans are awesome
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,118

Post » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:59 pm

[quote="Mort":1hvquznt]if you're overloading the computer, it has to slow down or skip stuff, those are really the only options.[/quote:1hvquznt]
This is absolutely true. How can this be fixed other than making your application use less CPU?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:24 am

now you know how they felt when they made crysis
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461


Return to Your tutorials & example files

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests