Physics joint created after positioning object, is buggy

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:38 pm

Problem Description
position an object and then add joint causes it to have incorrect positions/jittering..

Attach a Capx
http://www.filedropper.com/alextemplatebuggy2

Description of Capx
it created a bunch of physics objects, connects them together, positions the last one to another and connects them.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • run game and see the buggy connection

Observed Result
the connection on the end is buggy.

Expected Result
should not be jittering/repositioning like crazy

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES)
  • FireFox: (YES)
  • Internet Explorer: (YES)

Operating System and Service Pack
win vista

Construct 2 Version ID
r206
B
43
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,104
Reputation: 37,945

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:32 pm

Closing as won't fix, this looks like a mistake in your events. Please also see the bug report requirements regarding providing a minimal .capx; this project has over 100 events, most of which are unrelated to the problem.

The problem seems to stem from the first action of event 7 in the "Rope" sheet. It looks like you create a chain of objects going vertically down, then you just "set position" the last one to the destination position. As the physics tutorial describes, this effectively teleports the object, and since teleporting an object is a physically unrealistic thing to do the results are often also physically unrealistic. I think you need to find a better way to create the chain.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:16 pm

Ashley wrote:Closing as won't fix, this looks like a mistake in your events. Please also see the bug report requirements regarding providing a minimal .capx; this project has over 100 events, most of which are unrelated to the problem.

The problem seems to stem from the first action of event 7 in the "Rope" sheet. It looks like you create a chain of objects going vertically down, then you just "set position" the last one to the destination position. As the physics tutorial describes, this effectively teleports the object, and since teleporting an object is a physically unrealistic thing to do the results are often also physically unrealistic. I think you need to find a better way to create the chain.


How come it worked in the past then? Since the update to the physics, it does not work.
Kind of odd that we're not suppose to reposition a physics object. I think a lot of situations repositioning an object with physics makes sense. In a game , you need to teleport objects in a lot of cases. Games aren't suppose to be realistic.
B
43
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,104
Reputation: 37,945


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests