Physics platform object stubs his toe

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:45 pm

Okay, someone please explain this one to me...because I'm one confused puppy.
I'm trying to set up a platform game using the Physics behavior to move the character around. I've created two instances of a long, flat surface, and they both rest on the same Y-axis value, maybe overlapping by a couple of pixels at their ends. Pending refinement to the movement mechanics, the character object is moving just fine.

It's properties are set to:
- Immoveable: No
- Uses collision polygon
- Prevent rotation: Yes
- Density = 1
- Friction = 0.5
- Elasticity = 0
- Linear damping = 0.6
- Angular damping = 0
- Bullet: No

For the platform:
- Immovable: Yes
- Uses collision polygon
- Prevent rotation: Yes
- Density: 1
- Friction: 0.75
- Elasticity: 0
- Linear damping: 0.6
- Angular damping: 0
- Bullet: No

When moving left or right, I use the event Apply physics force +/- 20 at image point 0, with the image point being right in the middle of the sprite object.

That's all the relevant stuff, I believe. So, with no rotations going on, the two instances of the platform being on the same Y-axis point, why is there a collision stopping my character from moving when it reaches the beginning edge of the second instance? It should be a continuous flat surface, right? But clearly it's catching on the corner/side of the second instance and unable to move forward.

Anyone have any input, please? Thank you!Rhindon2013-03-19 21:52:14
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
113
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,661

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:52 pm

Mess a bit with the collision boxes of your object , I guess that should solve the problem ...

Or maybe give it a Y impulse when you know ...

or is it ... the rotate angle that obstructs it ?
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:00 pm

@Whiteclaws - I'll double-check the collision boxes, but since I did the click-Ctrl-drag-to-copy shortcut on the Layout, it should be the same dimensions for the box. The only thing I can think might be the case is the minute difference in the Y-axis positions for each instance...like, an extra fraction not accounted for in the Properties bar when the platform is highlighted.

And I don't see how the rotate angle could be the case since I have them all set to Off. All my images are drawn as basic rectangle shapes, so no rotation was present at their conception.

Now to check those collision boxes...
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
113
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,661

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:05 pm

@Whiteclaws - I think I discovered my problem. It's not the platforms or collision boxes at all. It's something to do with the initial starting coordinates of my character. I have some text values on the screen for me to track, and I notice that a simple JUMP results in a slightly different Y-axis value for the character's Y-axis position after it lands. After that, I'm able to move freely on the surface as if it was one super-long platform.

Thank you for your replies and suggestions, too! Always good to be thorough and check even the unlikely possibilities.Rhindon2013-03-19 22:07:27
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
113
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,661

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:09 pm

yep , I got the same , it's a 1 pixel-hover that appears after jumping , I thought that was fixed ? @Ashley ?
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:00 am

@Whiteclaws - Ah, okay. Yeah, when I started it up, I noticed the Y-axis coordinates adjusted ever so slightly, as if my character was falling simply because I supposedly placed him just a few pixels above the platform, and gravity was taking affect. However, I didn't ever actually SEE my character falling in the slightest. I thought maybe it was because I placed him slight overlapping the platform, but I doubt that was the case as I tend to be rather precise when possible...that, and I don't think my character would have been able to MOVE in the first place.
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
113
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,661


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kamens503, SEGamestudio and 17 guests