Physics Screensaver for Windows,

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:07 am

Hi,

not a game i know but i thought i would put it on here for anyone who is interested.
Unpack the .zip file and move the screensaver directory to wherever you want. Open the dir and right click on the screensaver.scr file and click install. This sets it as a screensaver like any other. There are no real settings other than you can press S for some simple stats. Left click closes the screensaver.

I hope you like it.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1685424/screensaver.zip
B
46
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,096
Reputation: 11,153

Post » Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:28 am

Forgot to mention, this uses @R0J0hound chipmunk physics which allows me to set the sleep threshold which is important in this case.
B
46
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,096
Reputation: 11,153

Post » Sat Mar 28, 2015 3:11 pm

how do you make this?
B
10
S
1
G
1
Posts: 57
Reputation: 828

Post » Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:36 pm

Made in C2 , exported using node.js then the .exe file renamed to .scr to make it a screensaver. Is that what you meant ?
B
46
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,096
Reputation: 11,153

Post » Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:18 pm

There's something wrong with it. The screen flashes like crazy and changes every half second from red to blue and back with randomly spawn objects. Can't watch it for more than 5 seconds.
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 774
Reputation: 6,645

Post » Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:45 pm

@Noga
Have you run dxsetup recently? Are your drivers up to date? I have only tried it on about 6 machines but it works fine on all of them.
B
46
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,096
Reputation: 11,153

Post » Sat Mar 28, 2015 10:01 pm

spongehammer wrote:Have you run dxsetup recently? Are your drivers up to date? I have only tried it on about 6 machines but it works fine on all of them.


On start it looks normal for 2-3 sec, than it starts jumping around. Can't make the integrated graphics to update, it's Intel, but modified by Asus, maybe there's the problem.
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 774
Reputation: 6,645

Post » Sun Mar 29, 2015 8:37 am

Just out of interest has anyone else had issues with this ?
B
46
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,096
Reputation: 11,153

Post » Mon Mar 30, 2015 11:53 am

runs fine on Nvidia gtx,
thanks I never knew one could make screensavers by just changing exe to scr
B
17
S
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,176

Post » Mon Mar 30, 2015 11:59 am

@frozenen

Yep that simple. I am not quite sure how you go about having normal screensaver type settings. I suppose i could always create a settings page in the actual program itself.

Glad it works ok. i have tried it on a few different graphics cards and not had any issues.
B
46
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,096
Reputation: 11,153


Return to Completed Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests