Pick instance with Character and Variable =1 doesn't work?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:32 pm

Problem Description
I am not entirely sure this is a bug, perhaps I'm doing something wrong but that surprises me and I've tried lots of things.
I have a character object with a variable. I create to instances of this character and assign a different variable to each 1 and 2. Then I attach another object a shield to these characters.
And I create a box. I tell construct:
Condition: Character with variable = 1 + When shield touches box + Pick instance where Character has variable n°1 = Simulate character Jump
Condition: Character with variable = 2 + When shield touches box +Pick instance where Character has variable n°2= Simulate character Jump

The issue is that both characters jump at the same time despite the fact that there is a Pick instance where... Am I doing something wrong?

Attached a Capx : http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=93936619249368586189
B
17
S
3
G
3
Posts: 89
Reputation: 2,825

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:49 pm

try

Image
Image
B
65
S
23
G
7
Posts: 1,505
Reputation: 10,896

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:50 pm

It works perfectly..

Once the shield collides with the hole, both events are true so both events are executed, so both characters are picked..

I guess a much better way to do this is put the shield in a container with the character, that way when referencing the shield, automatically the right character is picked..

Shield-Container
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:58 pm

You are both absolutely right, and I totally forgot about containers. Thank you very much to both of you!
B
17
S
3
G
3
Posts: 89
Reputation: 2,825


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChoosyZerk and 53 guests