Picking from 2 objects at random to spawn

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 7:29 pm

Hello,

I'm pretty new to learning Construct 2 - well, very new - and am attempting to make my first game with it.

The game is a simple top-down shooter , and is a kind of mix of Asteroids and Galaga. Nifty little thing.

Anyway, in the game, UFOs are to fly by every 10-15 seconds. There are two versions, one that will fly from Left to Right, and one that will fly from Right to Left.

Now, I've tried a couple approaches to make this work, including setting a variable at random, and then choosing which UFO to spawn based on that variable's setting. But it's not really getting the desired result - and I have a feeling it's not very elegantly done, either, and is probably wasting events. I'm still on the Free version (for now - just need the $$ avail to buy a license), so Events are at a premium, and I don't know how many this game will ultimately require.

I'm guessing it's probably a very easy thing to do and, in my newbie's naivete, I just haven't figured it out. But, if someone could point me in the right direction, that would be great, and very much appreciated.

Thank you!
B
S

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 8:20 pm

If you are just wanting it to pick a between a couple choices you can use:
choose(a, b)
This will select one of the two..

So could also be numbers like;
choose(1, 2)
for example.

You can add as many choices as you want.
choose(a, b, c, d, 2, 4, 15, pizza)

The 'random' function is used for picking a random number between two numbers..
You should use choose instead i think/
Last edited by UberDark on Sat May 23, 2015 8:57 pm, edited 5 times in total.
B
S
G

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 8:25 pm

You can read about both these expressions here..
https://www.scirra.com/manual/126/system-expressions
Last edited by UberDark on Sun May 24, 2015 12:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
S
G

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 9:21 pm

Ah!