Picking up Objects

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
Welcome! I-Spy (Hidden objects) is an educational puzzle that is more than just seek-and-find activities.
  • Hi Guys,

I'm trying to build a funcion where a player picks up a box or something and then is able to throw it to the ground again. I'm completely new to construct so I was wondering if any of you might have a CAPX file to show the functionalityof something like that.

Great Thanks,

Jana

• Quick thought.

For picking up the box You could use Pin behavior with your box and then

+On "space" pressed -> Pin box to Player - that will make box stay always relative to the player position.

For throwing, well it depends what "style" you are tring to achieve.

You could use Physics, Bullet, custom made events...

• Allright great,

the "pin box to player" already worked out great. I'm browsing through the Physics docs right now to see how far I get. Any other tips are welcome.

Cheers,

J

• Interessting, that you post your question twice under different topics...

...but this is a real chalange as I can see so far....

• THIS could be a possible solution BUT...

- this shows again that "physics" is somewhat buggy. I know, plattform and physics don't like each other - but if you try the CAPX you will see, that the whole thing sometimes works and sometimes it does not...but why?!?

• Extract from the basic physics tutorial:

or example, if you use Set Position to move an object to the other side of the layout instantly, it has effectively teleported. That's not a realistic physical phenomenon, so the result may be unrealistic as well.

Event2 and event6 you teleport the box.

Check out : Player (platform behavior) and Physic (world objects) - LINK, listed in the how do I FAQ, i think it does in fact spawn/displays either physic, either platform objects, depending on the state.