Pixel Graphics / Sampling

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:46 pm

I am currently trying to make a game, which would have pixel-art graphics, because the game is supposed to run on mobile devices, so sprites need to have lowest possible impact on performance, meaning that the resolution has to be as low as possible(and i don't have much time to create the game too!).

However, i cannot get these images to look right when scaled.
If i make a 64x64 image and then resize it to 256x256, it will look terrible because of the sampling (that's what causes this, right?) - the image is smoothed, resulting in a blurry mess.

While i could make the sprites look pixellated in 256x256, this would result in more work to do (finer drawing accuracy needed) and increased file size, which is unacceptable.

I tried disabling sampling in project properties, however there is no option to do so - only linear and point!
Furthermore, i cannot use the "pixellate" effect on the images because i am running the free version (2 effects PER PROJECT).

Is there a way to disable the cursed sampling and get images to scale without them being smoothed?

Example of what happens:


Apparently what i need is to dispose "interpolation" (a term with which i am unfamiliar with):
-example of rescaling image in GIMP 2 with no interpolation

Stiivais2013-03-26 13:14:03
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:56 pm

Point sampling is the one you want to use actually, if you're trying to get rid of the blur when scaling.
B
58
S
20
G
7
Posts: 305
Reputation: 8,804

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:04 pm

Sorry, it doesn't work that way.
Scaling up, doesn't add detail, it only adds pixels of the existing colors in a somewhat recognizable pattern. Basically that one red pixel now becomes 5 instead... hence the blockyness.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:05 pm

Tried both, edges still not visible clearly...
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:07 pm

[QUOTE=newt] Sorry, it doesn't work that way.
Scaling up, doesn't add detail, it only adds pixels of the existing colors in a somewhat recognizable pattern. Basically that one red pixel now becomes 5 instead... hence the blockyness.[/QUOTE]
But isn't there a way one could dispose of the change in opacity of pixels in the edges of rescaled image?Stiivais2013-03-26 13:08:40
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:15 pm

Changing the sampling as TL22 suggested, along with changing pixel rounding in preferences to on will get rid of C2's linear sampling, however you are still at the mercy of what ever the browser uses.
Safari, and Ie force that rendering for example.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:22 pm

[QUOTE=newt]...along with changing pixel rounding...[/QUOTE]
I think that i've just found the culprit.
Either the sampling was bugged when i tried setting it to "point", or it didn't work because of pixel rounding, but either way everything's fine now. Thank you all!

Also, newt, weren't you the guy with a dog as his avatar? :3
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests