Pixel-width lines on image edges in Node-webkit export

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:13 pm

Problem Description
Basically, on export to node-webkit, some objects appear to have one-pixel lines along one of their edges. Since this only happens on export, and only happens to objects with more than one animation frame, I have a feeling it's something to do with spritesheeting.

I've been having this issue for ages in Airscape, but it's been very hard to reproduce. Finally I've managed to by copying over an object from the Airscape project, but interestingly enough it's incredibly unstable - if the object is the wrong size the issue doesn't appear. Even if you remove an animation of the object that isn't ever played the issue stops appearing.

Here's an image of the issue:
Image

Description of Capx
Just export it as node-webkit, and you should see a 1-pixel wide line under some of the images.

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (NO)
  • FireFox: (NO)
  • Internet Explorer: (NO)

Operating System and Service Pack
Win 7 64bit

Construct 2 Version ID
r168
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:34 pm

i just posted this,
viewtopic.php?t=103300
B
15
S
6
G
4
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3,948

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 3:12 pm

I've no idea what's going on here. The image is surrounded by transparency, and even in the spritesheet there's nothing adjacent to it, there's still nothing but transparency around it. Where on earth is it getting an opaque line of pixels to render along the bottom? Chrome Canary did it too, so maybe it's specific to the Chromium engine, but I've still no idea what we could possibly change in Construct 2 to avoid this.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,250
Reputation: 192,452

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 4:58 pm

@Ashley yeah, it's weird, isn't it. It doesn't happen at all in NW preview, but there are some other subtle rendering differences there too so I'm not sure that helps you too much.

Is this enough to file a bug report to Chrome? I'd hate to go through all that again (Last time I waited on Chrome to fix a bug it took over six months)
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 5:05 pm

You could try, if it reproduces in Chrome for you (it does here), but as before your results may vary.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,250
Reputation: 192,452

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 5:08 pm

I'm thinking some of the engine-specific things that makes it happen (i.e. number of other animations???) will make a bug report difficult.

It seems so weird to me that removing one animation from the object will stop the issue from reproducing altogether. I can't even begin to imagine why that would be a contributing factor.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 6:21 pm

Must be pc, or card specific as I don't see any lines.(I feel so special now)
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,228
Reputation: 105,575

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 6:50 pm

@newt that's interesting - this is in an exported build with Node-Webkit, right?

I've never heard of anyone *not* getting the lines.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 7:14 pm

Yes, exported as an exe.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/666516/nolines.jpg
Don't know what else it could be besides perhaps something with Aero.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,228
Reputation: 105,575

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 7:17 pm

hmm veeery interesting...
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests