Platform Behavior question - can't animate jump?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:31 pm

Just a quick question,
With the 'Platform Behavior' behavior, is there something hard-coded
in that which stops an animation being played while the character is
'jumping'.
Because no matter what I can't seem to get it to play the animation
while the character is leaping upwards, however when it's considered
to be in the 'falling' state per the platform behavior variables,
the animation will play.

I have no pause action anywhere, I've tried both resume and play
actions when the character has jumped, however none of them work,
even though the character's animation will start playing when falling
back to the ground.

Is there some way to fix this so that the animation doesn't stop?
Or am I the only one getting this problem?
B
3
G
2
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1,166

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:36 pm

The main problems with animation are-

-Your triggers are wrong/events in general- double check they are not being constantly set etc.
-The animation is not set to loop. Or the other various animation options, looping to the wrong frame, speed too high, speed too low.

If you cannot find the issue post a cap and I will take a look at it for you.
B
9
S
2
G
4
Posts: 346
Reputation: 2,726

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:59 pm

Thanks very much for your time in responding Steven.

It seems for some reason I'm incapable of finding a solution to the problems
I have that can actually be solved in construct, without posting a topic
on the forums 5 minutes before hand and embarrassing myself =_=;;;

It ended up being a needlessly silly wrong event setup, because of some
overlooked confusion.
I had the resume/play actions under the 'is jumping' event, and I only
just now discovered/realized/found the problem. I remembered somewhere
somehow finding out about how even though the events are written as
'resume current animation' and 'play current animation', if an animation
is already playing, it will cause that to pause.
And so because there wasn't a 'trigger once' condition, it was looping
the resume/pause of the animation and never made any progress until
it was falling.
Fixing it with a 'trigger once' has got it working cleanly now.
B
3
G
2
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1,166

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:09 pm

@sparkfeather
The fact that you posted your solution means it could be helpful to other users who may have similar problems.

Nice one :)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,847
Reputation: 48,295

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:46 am

Ahh yeah heh, hadn't thought of it like that, thanks :)
Hopefully it does come in handy for someone ^^
B
3
G
2
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1,166


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests