Platform movement.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:23 pm

Hey, Currently i find that platform movement seems jumpy or bumpy, is there a way to make it more smooth.

e.g do the movement differently to make it less choppy?
B
5
G
3
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,275

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 4:29 pm

I'm not sure what you mean, it seems to have always worked OK for me. Can you show a .capx showing what's wrong?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:27 pm

Yeah there really isn't anything wrong. It is just i find that when i run the game the movement seems choppy. It may just be my browser, chrome.

http://download946.mediafire.com/dc27kl4xvg8g/7c18d7r3oxa18u3/Space.capx
B
5
G
3
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,275

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:37 pm

It runs perfectly smooth here on Chrome. Why are you using the Physics behavior though? The Platform movement doesn't respond to physics objects, only objects with the Solid behavior. Maybe the physics behaviors are wasting some CPU. Try removing them.

Have you tried any other browsers? Is IE9 or Firefox 7 any better?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:41 pm

OK thanks I removed the physics behaviour. thought I needed it to make my char collide. It runs a little smoother maybe I am just being picky. Thanks for that Ashley. You learn something new everyday even when it is so simple. :)


And i tried it in Firefox it is the same. I think i just am being picky. komes2011-10-16 17:42:03
B
5
G
3
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,275

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:46 pm

I'm on Firefox and even with the redundant physics, it's still smooth (and quite amusing).
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:05 pm

Thanks it is the beginning to my entry for the space competition. It is no where near done.
B
5
G
3
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,275

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:18 pm

Part of what makes it less smooth (for me at least) is the fullscreen mode. If you left it not fullscreen, but made the window a lot bigger(can't really see much with the standard window size ), it could still be plenty playable without taking the performance hit.SullyTheStrange2011-10-16 23:18:40
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:02 am

Thanks i will try that. :)
B
5
G
3
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,275

Post » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:22 pm

i m going to quote SullyTheStrange on the full screen mode and the window mode ,
how can I make the window bigger ?
as full screen mode doesn t really look good to present
and the standard window size is too small
thank you
B
30
S
8
G
9
Posts: 30
Reputation: 8,693

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: michaelverdi and 29 guests