Platformer Issue

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:11 am

Hi everyone I have been working with the Platformer and it's working great.

Except for some issues. I have a character that is in robot mode and jet mode. In robot mode it jumps runs shoots and transforms all well.

In jet mode it works ok I move up it goes up I move left it turns left and that is the problem in mode I want it to always stay facing in the right side direction. For some reason I can't seem to get it to work right without ruining the Robot mode movements when it turns left.

Does anyone have and idea on how to fix this?


https://www.dropbox.com/s/oyze0lz3seudaih/EvenSheeta.PNG
B
7
S
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 623

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:13 am

here is the second image for the event sheet.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mb8t9bl6gz5gu22/EvenSheetb.PNG
B
7
S
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 623

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:19 am

@Numonic Sorry to state the obvious but why not have two player characters? One would be visible and when you switch from one mode to the other it would switch which character you are controlling.
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:46 am

Hmmmm not a bad idea....
B
7
S
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 623

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:46 am

I just remembered that I need the characters to be visible cause the character transforms from robot to jet. That is the reason I have both of the on.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 623

Post » Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:12 am

Even then you could have a "morph animation" so that the player turn from one to the other and then you make it invisible while you make the other (which looks the same) visible. That way you can the different controls but for the player it looks like one character.
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:15 pm

Don't need to create another character. You should probably start thinking in state machines.

Delete Event 15 and try replacing Events 4 and 5 with this:
[code]+Keyboard: Key 'T' is down
-> Robot: Set Not Mirrored
+Else
++Keyboard: Key 'Left Arrow' is down
---> Robot: Set Mirrored
++Keyboard: Key 'Right Arrow' is down
---> Robot: Set Not Mirrored[/code]
B
56
S
20
G
7
Posts: 305
Reputation: 8,754

Post » Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:17 pm

Tl22 thanks will try those changes I was working on trying to fix that again last night.

B
7
S
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 623


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], suicidenutella and 1 guest