platformer problems

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:56 pm

hi!
i have problems with platform movement
i have done a new config to jump when i press Q but everytime i press Q the player is jumping and i just want him to jump only one time (no double jump) and i don't know how to do..
i'd like too to make a jump platform: when my player jump on , he jumps higher (sorry i'm french and my explanations suck)
could you help me please?
B
1
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1,039

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:04 pm

How did you create the "Q" control? Did you select a new key for "Jump" in the application properties, or did you create an "On 'Q' Key pressed" condition?

Also, I recommend you post your .cap so someone can have a look.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:16 pm

in fact in start of layout i set ingoring input , then i do:
-upon pressing Q, jump
-left arrow is down, set X speed to -250
etc
but the jump sucks
B
1
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1,039

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:05 pm

'Jump' will make the character jump even if in mid air. Use a little detector sprite beneath the player's feet to make sure they're on the ground before jumping.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:11 pm

thanks!!!
and for the jump platform? :p:p
B
1
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1,039

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2008 6:12 pm

[quote="Ashley":2wyeo4ub]'Jump' will make the character jump even if in mid air. Use a little detector sprite beneath the player's feet to make sure they're on the ground before jumping.[/quote:2wyeo4ub]

The "Is on ground" condition works decently enough for that.

[quote="lazyreed":2wyeo4ub]and for the jump platform? :p:p[/quote:2wyeo4ub]

What do you mean?

And may I ask why you're setting the platform behavior to ignore and manually coding the keyboard controls? The default controls work fine.

Unless you're making a 2-players-on-one-keyboard game :). That's the only reason I can see to do that.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:05 am

if you need an example .cap on basic platform stuff send me a pm
B
13
S
3
G
5
Posts: 286
Reputation: 3,193

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:01 am

[quote:1waqd2je]

[quote="lazyreed":1waqd2je]and for the jump platform? :p:p[/quote:1waqd2je]

What do you mean?

And may I ask why you're setting the platform behavior to ignore and manually coding the keyboard controls? The default controls work fine.

Unless you're making a 2-players-on-one-keyboard game :). That's the only reason I can see to do that.[/quote:1waqd2je]

i mean a jump thing like in sonic

i have to code the keyboard controls coz' i dislike the jump default key and i think it's impossible to enable only default jump key
B
1
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1,039

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:27 am

A jump thing, like a spring?

Player.Y less than Spring.Y
+
Player is Falling
+
Player collides with Spring
=
Player-> Jump

yea? nay?
B
13
S
3
G
5
Posts: 286
Reputation: 3,193

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:34 am

Yeah, I think he means a spring.

Here's a .cap with an example:

http://willhostforfood.com/users/deadeye/spring.cap

It uses just one event.

Also, it shows how you can change the default jump key in the application properties. I changed the jump to Z.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests