Please add text tool to image editor

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Mar 20, 2016 10:08 am

I wish i could add simple text to temp sprites without openning external image editor.
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 1,035

Post » Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:19 pm

There is a text object. You can set positions and pin them as well. There's also spritefonts.
Zelda Gamekit (my project)



Example capxs:

Zelda-Style Inventory

Zelda Health

3-saveslot system

[url=https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4396pwak0oh7q6/ZeldaDialogueSystem.capx?dl=0]Zelda-like Dialogue[
B
47
S
24
G
30
Posts: 517
Reputation: 19,464

Post » Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:52 pm

LaDestitute wrote:There is a text object. You can set positions and pin them as well. There's also spritefonts.

No, those are for different purposes. When someone has to create a new dummy sprite, the dev has to use an external image editor to write some label on the image. This feature would speed up that process. I encountered such a situation a week ago, and I had to use the brush tool to put some letters on a one colored square.
B
127
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,551
Reputation: 20,458

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:02 am

Please add text tool to image editor


+1
Image
B
63
S
23
G
7
Posts: 1,480
Reputation: 10,796

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:43 am

@Ashley - Any plans for this feature? This feature is quite interesting...
B
103
S
24
G
11
Posts: 695
Reputation: 12,884

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:52 pm

This doesn't sound like a good idea. Text in images has a lot of limitations: you can't change the contents (e.g. to translate it), you can't change the style easily, it is poorer quality (doesn't increase in detail on high-dpi screens, will just do a blurry-looking linear filter)... if you use a Text object it solves all of this!
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,248
Reputation: 192,238

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:07 pm

Ashley wrote: Text in images has a lot of limitations

You're right @Ashley..but we talking about dummy sprites
glerikud wrote:When someone has to create a new dummy sprite, the dev has to use an external image editor to write some label on the image..

Image

Ashley wrote: if you use a Text object it solves all of this!

Yes ,but we need to yse 99+ additional Text objects and pin them to sprites...
or use Brush tool
Image
and that can cause serious eyes injury ... :D
Image
B
63
S
23
G
7
Posts: 1,480
Reputation: 10,796

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:32 pm

Seems like you could do the bulk of that in an external editor beforehand.
#dummylibrary
You could also open it in an external editor using the option on the toolbar (set in preferences).

Also:
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=placeholder+image+generator
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
163
Posts: 8,221
Reputation: 105,061

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:49 pm

Yes..I can open Illustrator every time ..or save dummy,upload to net,type text and then download??!!
this is not about what I can do....This is how to make work in C2 faster and simpler..
..and it's just a suggestion or or humble request...
Image
B
63
S
23
G
7
Posts: 1,480
Reputation: 10,796

Post » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:25 pm

He's not going to be real interested in doing something to C2, especially since this was one of the reasons for doing a new editor.

Also:
viewtopic.php?t=69350&start=0
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
163
Posts: 8,221
Reputation: 105,061

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Colludium and 4 guests