Please Alpha Test My Game =)

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:09 pm

[QUOTE=DravenX]
1.Performance is ok but can be optimised
2.Gfx is good , but the forest needs more variety ie more plants different trees.
3.I also vote for the arrow keys instead off wasd keys
4.Music is on par for this game.
5.More effects ,when running the wolf should kick up some dust or leaves.

I dont know if anyone else has this problem ,but sound fx does not seem to work on my laptop when playing classic construct games.[/QUOTE]

1) Definitely. I'm pretty sure it's GPU heavy rather than CPU heavy, but if anyone could confirm this that would be ace.

2) Yes, that's another thing I should have mentioned in the OP. I'm leaving the little details to the end. If people tell me the level is too short; too long; some parts are too simple or difficult; there's not enough of... whatever, then as it stands I can easily re-arrange the layout, add more, fill out certain areas etc. Once I'm happy with the layout and have all the mechanics working as intended I'll be adding ferns, plants for colour, shrubs and small trees, hanging plants and ivy for the cliffs (which look really plain and repetitive atm). So that's definitely coming!

3) Noted

4) Not sure if that's good or bad

5) I've been thinking about this too. It's related to number 2 in that I want to get the mechanics and layout nailed before adding the little cosmetic touches. I would love grass and water kick-up effects at least, but I'll have to see how far I can push these effects based on how intensive the game is when it's complete.

Thanks for your feedback! Oh, and sound effects aren't in the game yet, which is why you aren't hearing anything
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:14 pm

[QUOTE=Gelidaer] I love the music and the art style in this game, but like a few people said, the arrow keys would be better since people are used to using WASD when using a mouse as well.

This is what I would recommend:

Arrow keys for movement and space for jump
Down and space for dropping

If your elemental attacks can't be changed later on, this might work:
Double tap left or right for dash
Down arrow for shield
Z for flaming jaws
X for rooting


I also got a few quick questions, does the movement use a custom plugin and is it easy to do the angle detection for the slopes of branches? Thanks for the demo and keep up the good work [/QUOTE]

Thanks Gelidaer!

I might try uploading a beta when the level is complete with multiple different control options for arrow keys, and see what people prefer. The arrow keys for abilities were based on the setup I want for the 360 controller:

Y for wind
B for fire
A for earth
X for water

Colour coded, and so I just kept the same layout for the arrow keys. But I can certainly see how people would prefer moving with the arrow keys. I wonder if using the number keys 1-4 would be useful for abilities too? I plan on using a modifier to access the second tier of abilities, holding down shift while pressing them to use a different skill.

I'll create and upload and some different variations
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:36 am

Back at my desk! Thanks for all the feedback you sent my way. I'm going to optimize as much as possible

Looking back through the thread I noticed a couple of questions I missed:

MrMiller: I'm curious to know how you got the music to run without a music folder? I've always had to have a sound/music folder included with my .exe. Maybe this is a fix that now works for CC 2.0?

I used the resource folder, in the same list as the music folder is in. I think you just right click it to add files to the folder. Then you use the "play music from resource" command in the events. Though there seems to be some limitations, since I can't alter its volume (for fading in and out) nor where in the track the music starts playing from. Hopefully I can figure that out.

Gelidaer: Does the movement use a custom plugin and is it easy to do the angle detection for the slopes of branches?

It's not a custom plugin, it's Tulamide's genius mind at work. The wolf has two small invisible sprites on either side of him, set to constantly move down the Y axis until they hit a solid or platform object. Witchraft ensues, where the sprites somehow set the wolf's angle based on the difference between their Y values. There's a limit to how far down they can move, and if one of them moves all the way down to its limit without hitting anything, then the wolf's angle is set to 0, and an animation is played where the wolf is balancing on an edge.

Thanks again for all the feedback, and hopefully you'll get to see an updated version before too long
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:51 pm

[QUOTE=-Silver-]
I used the resource folder, in the same list as the music folder is in. I think you just right click it to add files to the folder. Then you use the "play music from resource" command in the events. Though there seems to be some limitations, since I can't alter its volume (for fading in and out) nor where in the track the music starts playing from. Hopefully I can figure that out.[/quote]

Yeah, I remember reading about doing that a few years back. But I also remember hearing about a bug with it, so I just never pursued it. But if it's working now that's great, because packing music into a folder for the .exe just stinks and that itself has been buggy.
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:19 pm

Wow, just took a few weeks off and on returning the forum is changed to such an ugly design and the alpha version is released!
I really doubted the quality of the song, it helps my self confidence to read positive comments about it.
-Silver- has done a very good job so far. I was in love with the wolf from day one.

@MrMiller
What do you mean by "that itself has been buggy"? I never had issues of any kind. Also, I once made a tutorial about the XAudio2's peak and rms functions. If you read it to the end you will find a little gift, that might help developing code that uses music on sound channels, which offers plenty of new possibilities to handle music.

@-Silver-
I wouldn't recommend using the "y"-key. Different languages use other key layouts. For example, the "z" and "y" key are swapped between english (qwerty-layout) and german (qwertz-layout) keyboards. There are also azerty- and qzerty-layouts. As long as CC doesn't report key-codes but characters, it might be best to let the user decide which keys to use?
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:56 pm

[QUOTE=tulamide]
@-Silver-
I wouldn't recommend using the "y"-key. Different languages use other key layouts. For example, the "z" and "y" key are swapped between english (qwerty-layout) and german (qwertz-layout) keyboards. There are also azerty- and qzerty-layouts. As long as CC doesn't report key-codes but characters, it might be best to let the user decide which keys to use?[/QUOTE]

Ahhh, thanks, didn't know that. I didn't plan on using the Y key for keyboards, but for 360 controllers. As in the Y, B, A, X face buttons, colour coded to match the elements. I transfered their positioning to the arrow keys for the keyboard. If players want to use arrow keys for movement though, I think you're right and I'll have to let them set their own preferences for ability keys

And yeah, whoever thought this green colour scheme was a good idea needs a clip behind the ear. Ugliest layout I've seen in years
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:31 pm

[QUOTE=tulamide]

@MrMiller
What do you mean by "that itself has been buggy"? I never had issues of any kind. Also, I once made a tutorial about the XAudio2's peak and rms functions. If you read it to the end you will find a little gift, that might help developing code that uses music on sound channels, which offers plenty of new possibilities to handle music.[/QUOTE]

Back in, I think 2010, I posted a thread on the old forum asking people to test my .exe and sound folder to find out why the music wasn't playing. It played fine in the cap, and the expressions were correct, the sounds were also packaged in the same folder as the .exe, but the sound still wouldn't play as an .exe.

After everyone looked into it, no one was able to figure it out and it was concluded by several people in the thread that it was a bug that couldn't be fixed and that it was common with CC exe's at that time.
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:21 pm

@-Silver-
My bad, I misunderstood (Sad, that I use an XBox360 and didn't immediatly understand) Oh, and check your inbox

@MrMiller
I see. I was active in 2010 but not as experienced as nowadays. I also might not have found a solution. However, it seems to only have happened to you? That might point to not being a bug but some issue under exact circumstances that occur rarely?
One can't say much by just running an executable. Would you be so kind and point me to that thread? I'm just curious and would like to examine the .cap and the used sound files. tulamide2012-10-16 15:23:26
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:28 pm

[QUOTE=tulamide] @-Silver-
My bad, I misunderstood (Sad, that I use an XBox360 and didn't immediatly understand)

@MrMiller
I see. I was active in 2010 but not as experienced as nowadays. I also might not have found a solution. However, it seems to only have happened to you? That might point to not being a bug but some issue under exact circumstances that occur rarely?
One can't say much by just running an executable. Would you be so kind and point me to that thread? I'm just curious and would like to examine the .cap and the used sound files.[/QUOTE]

Before I posted my previous reply I went to the old forum and tried to find the thread, but to no avail. I tried to login to my old account there and find it through another function, but it appears that the login function is disabled (makes sense of course since it is an inactive forum now).

I imagine the .exe issue is just an anomaly. I seem to catch all the anomalies with things for some reason MrMiller2012-10-16 15:58:11
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:37 pm

[QUOTE=MrMiller]I imagine the .exe issue is just an anomaly. I seem to catch all the anomalies with things for some reason [/QUOTE] I feel with you. I really do. As it happens in other areas quite often to me, too.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

PreviousNext

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest