Please give advice to someone who's determined to sell games

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily generate many levels from a set of pre-built scenes (Construct 3 template)
  • After a lifetime of hobby game programming (and programming in general) I am hell bent on charging money for the game I'm working on. I have made a career of programming for other people none of my personal side projects have seen any success so far.

I'm very good with SEO, SEM, and web development, I am not good at: knowing what people want, or how to extract money from people.

Currently my plan is to release a "light" version, a "full" version, and to release on android, DRM free desktop, and win8 store.

So I ask of you, looking back to the first time you turned a profit off a game, what mistakes did you make, what advice would you give? If you have a fantastic link, please post that as well!

• More,

How did you price your game? I believe games of similar caliber of what I have planned go from 5 to 10 dollars, but as the developer I will not make a good judge of the game's value. I've sunk quite a bit of money into it so far though. How do you determine your games value in a way that optimizes for sales/market reach?

How much did you drop in advertising? Is $1k in online advertising overkill, or not enough?

• skelooth

Since you're going to have a desktop version of your game, you should seriously consider Steam Greenlight.

I'm part of a small indie team that managed to get our game through Greenlight and released on Steam and it makes a huge difference. Ten times as many people bought the game from Steam as did from all other retailers combined - both online and physical stores.

Yours wouldn't be the first Construct 2 game to try Greenlight either. Over 30 Construct 2 games have been listed and at least 6 have made it through and are on sale (even if in Early Access). See this collection.