Please Help! Repetitive Audio Event - How do I

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:26 am

:?:

Hi Folks,

So I`m creating a game where there will be cubes of 2 different colors and for each color there is 6 different sizes...

They will have physics and what I`m trying to do is to play a sound for everytime any cube of any color or any size touches, without having to create an event for each possibility which would end up having too many events! I cant even calculate how many possibilities and events there would be

How can I simplify this process?

I thank you in advance!
B
S

Post » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:56 am

Assuming the cubes are all separate objects here, put all of the cubes into a family then it is just one event, if Cube(family) on collision with Cube(family) > play sound.
B
S
G

Post » Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:15 am

Thank you @plinkie !

I will learn about families in order to accomplish this, doenst seem complicated, im just new to C2 but already very inspired.

I will ask another question here, since I got a reply so fast, lets see if you or someone else can help me on this:

In my game, you win when the character touches another abject, like the floor for example, and stays there for at least 2 seconds, then the system goes to the next layout. OK so far.

But now, I want some levels to have another character (might be a copy or a different object) How can I make a condition where you only win if ALL character are touching the goal object? And considering that some levels will have a different number of these characters, so it should be a condition that doesnt state a fixed number of them to go to next layout... I hope Im making myself clear...

I am using "if sprite is overlapping at offset" but "is touching another object" also seems to work ok.

If someone can help me, that would be fantastic!

Thanks!
B
S

Post » Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:24 am

@plinkie I'm using families now, very simple, very useful, thank you very much