[PLUGIN] appMobi Plugin Updates

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:15 pm

Great news! I have a question though: is this only if there is a large number of sprites when the game loads? One of my games spawned quite a few objects during the game and that worked fine to begin with. If so, can we workaround by simply spawning initial items on "start of layout" for example?

I am unable to test for the next 3-4 days, so maybe you could try it @ArcdEd?
B
27
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 6,922

Post » Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:29 pm

Well I did get one of games working with AppMobi on droid. I removed all my spritefont objects and that seemed to do the trick. However, the game ran about as well as it does on Phonegap and didn't look good. I got much better performance and overall look in CocoonJS. I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong still. I exported as direct canvas, included the directcanvasc2.js file and included it in my index.html.
B
97
S
30
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 21,188

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:27 am

Hm, well still doing better than me. I got to test for just a few minutes last night and the appmobi app kept crashing -_- (Where it quits the app, not the black screen.) I tried CocoonJS a little while back, but all I got was a blank screen with the FPS counter up the top.

However, when my games were working on Android they ran very smooth and there was a VERY noticeable difference between using direct canvas and not.
B
27
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 6,922

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:11 pm

@Tobye - Spawning only what is needed will defiantly help. However depending on the game, you still may run into the problem as the game progresses. Maybe not in your case, I would have to check.

We are working on a solution that will manage the media better so you wont have to worry about it. However the solution your mentioned is defiantly something someone can use while we get a solution out the door.

@ArcadEd - That is strange about the performance and image quality. Is it still the same app ID? I can check it out. tap2012-10-16 15:13:01
B
19
S
4
G
5
Posts: 116
Reputation: 4,369

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:58 pm

The one I got working on Android was
arcaded_gmail_com.kaplowtest30

I just put it up a few days ago. It was like it wasn't using DC, the edges on all the sprites were really jaggy. I am assuming I am still doing something wrong :).
B
97
S
30
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 21,188

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:50 pm

@ArcadEd - I wanted to actually build the app to test it on a device and it does look like the art is jagged. Could you supply the capx file. I would like to try some things to see if I can help.

Thanks
B
19
S
4
G
5
Posts: 116
Reputation: 4,369

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:24 pm

@Tap Sure, I will PM it too you right now.
B
97
S
30
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 21,188

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:40 pm

Hey guys,

I just got around to testing with no luck. If I do create on start of layout I get the black screen, if I try wait 5 seconds it waits 5 seconds then simply freezes (in the game screen, no black screen). Guess I just gotta suck it up and wait!
B
27
S
8
G
5
Posts: 429
Reputation: 6,922

Post » Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:35 am

Hi @tap,

Excuse the long time since the last contact, but I was busy with another project, and just now I can return to my project with appmobi plugin. And I have a doubt for wich I want to ask for your help.

I am trying to change a sprite texture with an new image that I directly capture with the mobile camera or with some image from the mobile gallery. Do you has a demo of how to do this? Because when i try, I take the picture but the app is closed and I cannot insert it in there, the same happens when I open the mobile image gallery.

Thanks
B
92
S
5
G
8
Posts: 172
Reputation: 7,712

Post » Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:05 pm

@NRABrazil - I don't have an example already made. So are you looking to see how to take a picture with the camera and then spawn a sprite with that image? Just let me know. I'll see what I can do as far as creating you a little example capx.
B
19
S
4
G
5
Posts: 116
Reputation: 4,369

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests