[PLUGIN] Audiere Sound

Completed plugins, behaviors and effects.

Post » Wed May 25, 2011 6:59 pm

Cool! Using aliases for sounds is a really neat idea.

Though it seems I can't get music to repeat. Tried repeating music with ogg, mp3 and xm. No go. =/
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Wed May 25, 2011 8:01 pm

Fixed the set music repeat action. Download version 1.2 in first post.
B
79
S
24
G
53
Posts: 4,728
Reputation: 40,219

Post » Wed May 25, 2011 10:56 pm

Works nicely. =)

Though before I used load music from resource, tried that now and it doesn't repeat now either. It works when using "Load Music from file" but not "Load Music from Resource". But you can't give music/sounds loaded from resources an alias either.

Other than that tiny quibble it's great.
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 6:13 pm

Fixed Load music from resource. Download version 1.3 in first post.
B
79
S
24
G
53
Posts: 4,728
Reputation: 40,219

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 12:20 pm

Thank you for fixing bugs.

[quote="R0J0hound":b5vr4qxb]You can use the "is seekable" condition to check. Unfortunately the Audiere library doesn't seem to support seeking for most of the file formats it supports. In other words it's a limitation of the Audiere library that I can't work around.[/quote:b5vr4qxb]
The condition returns that song is seekable, but setting position still doesn't work. Is this the limitation you're talking about or if it's seekable it should work.
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 773
Reputation: 6,643

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 3:09 pm

Is there any difference between using the Music actions and Sound actions? Because sound actions are lacking the option to repeat sounds plus "Set volume" doesn't seem to work for sounds.
B
16
S
8
G
4
Posts: 136
Reputation: 3,144

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 6:29 pm

[quote="Noga":167elrg2]The condition returns that song is seekable, but setting position still doesn't work. Is this the limitation you're talking about or if it's seekable it should work.[/quote:167elrg2]
What is the file format you're using? I've only tested setting position with wav files. As I recall if the music has stopped playing and you use set position you need to play it again to get it going.

[quote="Daiz":167elrg2]Is there any difference between using the Music actions and Sound actions? Because sound actions are lacking the option to repeat sounds plus "Set volume" doesn't seem to work for sounds.[/quote:167elrg2]
Music streams a file and Sounds load entirely into memory first. Sounds also are played using a feature of the audiere library where the sound is loaded only once and every time you play it another instance of the sound is played. An unfortunate side effect is the set volume action will only affect the most recently created instance of the sound.
B
79
S
24
G
53
Posts: 4,728
Reputation: 40,219

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 8:40 pm

[quote="R0J0hound":2toxfxj5]An unfortunate side effect is the set volume action will only affect the most recently created instance of the sound.[/quote:2toxfxj5]
No, it's not just that. Set volume for sounds simply doesn't work at all. Try out a code like this:

[code:2toxfxj5]+ System: Start of layout
-> Audiere: Load Sound ("sample1.wav") as "sfx" (Play now: Yes, Volume: 100)
+ System: Every 100 milliseconds
-> Audiere: Set Volume of sound "sfx" to Audiere.GetSoundVolume("sfx")-5[/code:2toxfxj5]
The sample just keeps playing at volume 100 for the whole time.

Also, even if it worked, with a limitation like that (only being able to set the volume of the latest instance) it makes the whole thing pretty useless for my purposes (creating dynamic ambient soundscapes). Guess I'll have to resort to using the music actions for everything.
B
16
S
8
G
4
Posts: 136
Reputation: 3,144

Post » Sun May 29, 2011 4:09 pm

[quote="R0J0hound":311acvow][quote="Noga":311acvow]The condition returns that song is seekable, but setting position still doesn't work. Is this the limitation you're talking about or if it's seekable it should work.[/quote:311acvow]
What is the file format you're using? I've only tested setting position with wav files. As I recall if the music has stopped playing and you use set position you need to play it again to get it going.
[/quote:311acvow]
My bad, I was using too small numbers for setting position. I works flawlessly, perfect!
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 773
Reputation: 6,643

Post » Mon May 30, 2011 7:03 am

Nice, I've been looking for something like this with Ogg support. Thanks for posting.
B
5
S
1
G
1
Posts: 46
Reputation: 842

PreviousNext

Return to Completed addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests