[PLUGIN] Chat (with SocketIO)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 8:15 am

This plugin had been depreciated. Use official multi-player feature instead of this plugin.
Last edited by rexrainbow on Thu Sep 25, 2014 3:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
97
S
22
G
176
Posts: 4,108
Reputation: 103,019

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:24 am

Wow nice to see someone working on this! :D
B
33
S
6
G
7
Posts: 338
Reputation: 7,424

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:33 am

A-W-E-S-O-M-E !!!!!!!!!!!!
B
159
S
38
G
11
Posts: 229
Reputation: 17,361

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:59 am

Any unix versions of server? Would be more useful than Windows ones :P
Edit: Nvm there seems to be python stuff. Just need to check it out.l33twash0r2011-12-09 12:01:16
B
27
S
3
G
5
Posts: 172
Reputation: 3,628

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:16 pm

@l33twash0r:

Try to run
[code]python ServerEngine\SocketIO\main.py[/code]
in the shell (maybe).
B
97
S
22
G
176
Posts: 4,108
Reputation: 103,019

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:21 pm

[QUOTE=rexrainbow] @l33twash0r:

Try to run
[code]python ServerEngine\SocketIO\main.py[/code]
in the shell (maybe).[/QUOTE]
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "SocketIO/main.py", line 2, in <module>
    from tornado import web
ImportError: No module named tornado
E: lets see what happens when I install tornado. Sec.
E2: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 3, in <module>
    from tornadio2 import TornadioRouter, SocketServer
ImportError: No module named tornadio2
Now just need to read tornado tutorial and setup tornadio2 and see if it works then.

E3: Someone else wanna try? Cant figure it out :/l33twash0r2011-12-09 14:19:11
B
27
S
3
G
5
Posts: 172
Reputation: 3,628

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:46 pm

@l33twash0r:

Sorry, you are right. The server need to install tornado and tornadio2.
B
97
S
22
G
176
Posts: 4,108
Reputation: 103,019

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:52 pm

User can try to combine sync-function plugin with chat plugin for more complex case.
B
97
S
22
G
176
Posts: 4,108
Reputation: 103,019

Post » Sat Dec 10, 2011 1:44 am

The minify problem seems from socket.io-client. Sorry for it can not minify in current vision.
B
97
S
22
G
176
Posts: 4,108
Reputation: 103,019

Post » Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:58 pm

Excellent job! I just tested this out and it works great! I like how you setup the socket - I have been running node.js with socket.io from a Ubuntu VM (Virtual Machine) for a few months.

I like the idea of being able to use a product like Construct 2 to build out multi connection or multiplayer HTML5 application.

I am surprise that this socket runs on windows.

Do you know of any other capx examples of multi connection?

Thanks and great job!mars19852011-12-27 15:00:08
B
9
S
2
G
5
Posts: 54
Reputation: 3,546

Next

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests