[PLUGIN] Clay.io Advertisements & Cross Promotion

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:44 pm

@austin

lol, i forgot about adblock. i apologize haha. it works now :)SpacialPumpkin2013-04-24 18:44:26
B
12
S
2
G
2
Posts: 62
Reputation: 1,567

Post » Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:57 pm

Hi again, I tried the plugin with Windows 8 exporter, and I found that my game crashed. It said this line of code did it:      


this.advertisement['hide'](); // TODO: Should probably actually remove this element...
this.advertisement = null;

When I removed this line of code, it didn't crash. However, no ads are showing :(

Also I integrated clay.io with Windows 8 Visual Studio before doing all this.SpacialPumpkin2013-04-24 18:58:51
B
12
S
2
G
2
Posts: 62
Reputation: 1,567

Post » Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:58 am

@MadScientist - it's updated once a day at midnight. It's not completely based on CPC/PPC, we go through CPMStar which is a mix of CPC, CPA (actions) and CPM (impressions)

@SpacialPumpkin I've updated the main Clay.io plugin with what *should* fix this. If it didn't, let me know and email me the console logs in VS - austin@clay.io
B
24
S
8
G
4
Posts: 208
Reputation: 6,152

Post » Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:51 am


I was out of all this for a long time and dont understand this words: CPC, CPA, CPM

Coins per click, coins per action, coins per M???MadScientist2013-04-25 10:52:26
B
9
S
1
Posts: 46
Reputation: 821

Post » Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:16 pm

Cost per click, Cost per Action, Cost for Mil (thousand impressions) :)
B
24
S
8
G
4
Posts: 208
Reputation: 6,152

Post » Mon Apr 29, 2013 6:20 am

[QUOTE=austin] Updated the plugin with scaling, let me know what you think :)[/QUOTE]

I re-downloaded it again today and tossed it in to see what happens. Unfortunately, it still isn't placed properly. I realize its done through a modal, but it would be nice to be able to treat it like a sprite--ie, have it in the game world, properly z-ordered and scaled, and have it stay where it should with zooming. Building it into the game world like a billboard (in non-dishonest ways!) would be the holy grail, I believe.

Current action: it isn't placed correctly for me regardless of zoom level, it moves around when zooming, jumps a little in place during scrolling. In any case, no option puts the ad where I placed it in the editor. This is possibly because my game is largely played at about 80% zoom, but zooming to 100% doesn't fix it, either.

I'm not even all that worried about the z-ordering, since I would never want the ads obstructed by anything in my case, but the rest is quite important. I really hope to be able to use it some time!C-72013-04-29 06:22:15
B
90
S
32
G
14
Posts: 935
Reputation: 14,540

Post » Thu May 02, 2013 10:50 pm

I'm not seeing anything at all, either when previewing or when exporting and uploading to Clay.io. In earlier versions, I did see a blank box which said something like 'Ads will not show when previewing', which made sense, but now I see nothing at all.

I have the Clay.io object added (and working with hi-scores) and have added the ads addon (that's a lot of ad's). I've made sure I have the latest versions of both.

I assume that all I really need to do is drag the object onto my screen and the ad should show there? I'm not seeing anything. I've tried putting it on it's own layer at the top of the pile just in case it was covered up, but still see nothing.
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 446
Reputation: 5,633

Post » Sun May 05, 2013 8:29 am

Hi,

I wanted to test out how this plugin would work so I opened up the Infinite Jumping template and applied the ad object. The ad appears properly when I test the game on a mobile device, but the ad does not appear correctly when testing on the web browser. When I test on the web browser the ad appears around the bottom of the game, but I placed the ad object at the top.

Please see images below:





Is anyone else experiencing similar issue?

To recreate the issue simply open the infinite jumping template and apply the ad object.

Maybe I am doing something wrong?

Other than this issue, I would like to say thanks for making such a simple ad plugin.

Edit:
And here is how it looks like on Newgrounds.com Preview


I'm not sure why I can't get the ad to be in the right spot regardless of where the game is being played...Enzan2013-05-05 08:56:25
B
12
S
3
G
3
Posts: 35
Reputation: 2,706

Post » Sun May 05, 2013 10:21 pm

It's also appearing correctly on my mobile phone, but not at all on PC.
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 446
Reputation: 5,633

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 9:43 am

Having about the same issues with the positioning here. What I currently do as kind of a workaround is displaying the game in a properly sized iframe (set fullscreen to scale). Then the ad is being displayed at the correct position again.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests