[PLUGIN] Clay.io (leaderboards & achievements)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Thu May 09, 2013 8:39 am

@austin

I think I am missing something really obvious, and also, I am not sure this is more a C2 question or a Clay.io question, but I ask anyway.

If someday, one of my game isn't free, since I see this expression:
Clayio.HasInstalled (1 if installed/purchased, 0 otherwise)

Does that means that the game will be playable if not bought, and so, to make a Demo of it, I have to check the Clayio.HasInstalled value to do some actions? (like, for exemple: Go to layout Level5, Else, go to layout EndOfDemo)

Or it is something else I'll have to do?
https://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=152506

And that is why you shall respect the bug reports guidelines, not only giving a capx is making the bug reproductible in one click in a situation they can work with (less time wasted trying to reproduce vague instructions) but also it helps filtering false positives.

Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
42
S
17
G
16
Posts: 2,089
Reputation: 15,345

Post » Thu May 09, 2013 10:23 am

@austin: It's working great now! Thanks a lot!
B
12
S
4
G
1
Posts: 104
Reputation: 1,512

Post » Thu May 09, 2013 10:29 am

Did someone try to use clay.io with Ejecta?
B
29
S
9
G
6
Posts: 525
Reputation: 8,294

Post » Mon May 13, 2013 10:25 am

@Austin.
I'm implementing clay.io for my game, but there is a but (I hope this wasn't intended).

If I prompt the user login in this way:

Start Layout->Clayio.LoggedIn==0->prompt login.

If the user closes the popup without actually loggin in, Clayio.LoggedIn returns 1, it should return 0!
B
29
S
9
G
6
Posts: 525
Reputation: 8,294

Post » Mon May 13, 2013 11:08 am

@Aphrodite That's correct. The only other thing you would have to do is call the purchase game action if they haven't purchased it :)

@0plus1 That's because closing it logs them in as anonymous. Regardless, the API already detects if the user is logged into Clay.io, and displays the login box if they're not, so you shouldn't need that event.austin2013-05-13 11:11:49
B
24
S
8
G
4
Posts: 208
Reputation: 6,152

Post » Tue May 14, 2013 1:01 am

@austin
Oh I see, the issue I have with this is that I would like to know if the user is actually logged in, if he's logged as anonymous then achievements are lost forever as I check locally if they have been awarded, same goes for high scores and that stuff, can you elaborate on these issues?

Thank, so far apart from this issue I'm really liking your product, kudos.
B
29
S
9
G
6
Posts: 525
Reputation: 8,294

Post » Tue May 14, 2013 4:14 am

It's been nice having everything come together so well for my game, and the in-app payments work wonderfully!

Might I request an expression that lets us know how many items are in a cart? This would help a lot with ui elements. Possibly even be able to run a loop through which items are in the cart like you can with successful payments. You can try to track it with in-game arrays and such, but the user has the ultimate option to remove items from cart once the cart is pulled up. And it doesn't send back to the game that it as been removed. This is no problem for identifying purchases, but is a little bit of an issue for having a ui that responds accurately to the cart.
B
90
S
32
G
14
Posts: 935
Reputation: 14,540

Post » Thu May 23, 2013 3:37 pm

Can't Post to Facebook or Twitter

Hey Yo'll!

I have an issue where I can only post to fb / twitter within Construct 2's game preview.

When I export my game as HTML5 web and host it on Drop box, the social features wont post to my fb / twitter account, despite being logged into these accounts with Clay.io.

Clay.io doesnt seem to remember that I'm logged in as the login prompt keeps appearing if I press the Twitter button again (to post game link)

Tested on r128.2 & r129 using chrome.

Thanks,
Alex


Image shows Clay.io posting successfully after login in C2 game preview:
NECROKRIEG2013-05-23 15:38:23
B
15
S
6
G
3
Posts: 87
Reputation: 4,304

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 6:35 am

@C-7 added to my todo list

@NECROKRIEG does it work if you upload the files to Clay.io? I think it might be an http vs https issue, and if it works on Clay.io, that would confirm it
B
24
S
8
G
4
Posts: 208
Reputation: 6,152

Post » Tue May 28, 2013 11:37 am

Heya Austin!

Social Not Working [Resolved]
I think you are right because when I hosted the files on another server (not dropbox) it worked well! How do you find out if a server is using http or https?


Social Not Working with Firefox (C2 Preview)
I have no idea why but it doesn't work. I really don't like Firefox it has fallen behind Chrome. (Graphics processing slower, C2 image points move around) But it is still a leading browser. Firefox pic attached.


Thanks Mate!
Clay.io is awesome

-Alex :D



NECROKRIEG2013-05-28 11:53:13
B
15
S
6
G
3
Posts: 87
Reputation: 4,304

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests