PlugIn Development - Javascript Functions Scope

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
You can become a REAL game developer. Learn the basics and get resources that will let you get profits from your game!
  • Hello all, I am new to construct and I am developing a plugin to solve a problem I have.

I am implementing a Push Notifications Plugin for android HTML5 games. In fact, I have it working using google push notifications service. But not the way I think a plugIn must be done.

I wrote the plugin using the JS SDK provided by scirra. But I hit a wall when I needed a javascript function that can be call from outside the application, via the Cordova Push Notifications Plugin (https://github.com/phonegap-build/PushPlugin.git).

That (and all push services) requires that the applications needs to be accessible (via a JS function) from the Device OS (Android).

In my implementation I had to include an external JS file into the index.html, where the "onNotification" function is defined. If I define that same function inside the plugin, it does not work.

In order to be a proper plugin, it must be autonomous and self contained. Or at least it must be Construct 2 itself who includes that file.

So my question is:

Plan A - How or where (inside the plugin) do I define a javascript function that has the same scope that the ones defined in the index.html file?

Plan B - How do I define a plugin that once the game is exported to Cordova or Phonegap, Construct 2 itself imports the needed JS files and writes the <script> tag including it in the index.html file.

Thank you very much for your help!

• To add a global function that won't be renamed by closure compiler, just use:

window["myGlobalFunction"] = function () { ... };

• If you need to use "Plan B" you can add the JS file name in the "function GetPluginSettings()" in edittime.js

This is typically needed for JS-API based libraries when you want to keep it in a local file. My setting for ParseFE is: