[plugin] fade in/fade out audio

Post your work in progress addons and get feedback

Post » Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:46 am

It try to play with fade-in, stop with fade-out, change volume smoothly, by set volume linearly in dB scale.
- The maximum volume is defined to 1, it will map to 0db.
- The minimum volume is defined to 0, it will map to -60db.

Document, plugin and sample capx are included.
Goodbye
B
111
S
28
G
295
Posts: 4,549
Reputation: 164,228

Post » Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:19 am

This is one of my favorite plugins! ImageImage
B
162
S
80
G
22
Posts: 1,808
Reputation: 24,585

Post » Tue May 12, 2015 10:12 am

Thank you rex :)
B
52
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,267

Post » Thu May 14, 2015 5:23 am

One thing that confuses me sometimes, is with the "play" action. Sometimes when I see it say "stop volume", I think of the when the audio is actually "stopped" (not playing at all), perhaps it could be renamed to "End volume" or "Final volume"? Also placing it after the "Start volume" would also help make it more logical! Image (Also maybe the "fade-in" could say "fade-in time", just so it's even easier to read? Though this isn't as important.)

http://i.imgur.com/XqUkLE5.png

I think you did a good job with the ordering here though!
Image
B
162
S
80
G
22
Posts: 1,808
Reputation: 24,585

Post » Thu May 14, 2015 7:07 am

@alspal

Since I should keep the interface compatible, I only could add this parameter "Start volume" at the last one. Sorry.
I had changed the parameter name "Stop volume" to "End volume" thanks for suggestion. Please download it again.
Goodbye
B
111
S
28
G
295
Posts: 4,549
Reputation: 164,228

Post » Fri May 22, 2015 1:08 pm

Hi Rex, I like the idea of your plugin to ensure a smooth sound transition.

Another issue I've been trying to solve is to allow C2 to play sound streams instead of just sound files. I found a way of doing so by using an external
javascript call with the browser object:

Browser.Execute Javascript "var audio = new Audio('http://onefm.ice.infomaniak.ch:80/onefm-high.aac');audio.play();"

This works fine and allows me to play a local radio station streamed from their website. The only issue I have is I can't stop the sound,
as I don't think there's any way in which I can retrieve the audio pointer that is assigned above to the issue the following javascript command
in the same way:

Browser.Execute Javascript "audio.pause();audio.currentTime = 0;"

Because of this, I was thinking of writing a new plugin based on the standard C2 audio one. Do you think you could integrate a "playstream"
command to your audio plugin? This would really help me tremendously (avoiding having to create a plugin just for this issue) and I'm sure
would prove to be a valuable addition for the C2 community.

Let me know what you think. Cheers.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 87
Reputation: 957

Post » Fri May 22, 2015 2:19 pm

@wmsgva

Sorry, my schedule is full, I could not put any task.
Goodbye
B
111
S
28
G
295
Posts: 4,549
Reputation: 164,228

Post » Sun May 31, 2015 5:31 pm

I used to just create a fading sprite and set every tick the sound volume to the sprite opacity * -0.60. This plugin is very welcome.
B
66
S
22
G
4
Posts: 360
Reputation: 6,584

Post » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:57 pm

This plugin sounds fantastic I need to use it. I downloaded the "rex_audio_helper.7z" but what do I do with that? Put it in the plugins folder? sorry I'm a beginner. Thanks
B
12
S
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 734

Post » Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:33 am

gregorysforster wrote:This plugin sounds fantastic I need to use it. I downloaded the "rex_audio_helper.7z" but what do I do with that? Put it in the plugins folder? sorry I'm a beginner. Thanks


Unzip it and put into plugins\ folder, or use this tool to download and install plugins.
Goodbye
B
111
S
28
G
295
Posts: 4,549
Reputation: 164,228

Next

Return to Work in Progress Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest