[plugin] firebase

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 4:45 am

Current plugins of firebase are based on version 2.x api. It does not support the latest 3.x api and the new project base. I will try to upgrade my firebase plugins for version 3.x as soon as possible.
B
108
S
26
G
271
Posts: 4,471
Reputation: 151,777

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 5:25 am

Well at least they didn't end up like Parse.
Image ImageImage
B
169
S
50
G
173
Posts: 8,319
Reputation: 110,282

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 3:02 pm

Awesome work Rex. Did you have any plans to add GeoFire (firebase location) plugin as well?
B
6
S
1
Posts: 2
Reputation: 350

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 11:20 pm

Awesome! Thanks @rexrainbow! :) I'm super excited about all the changes in 3.x. A Firebase engineer gave me some hints at GDC, glad to see they delivered. I'm eager to jump in now.

Let me know if you need any assistance or help testing. :P
B
52
S
13
G
7
Posts: 146
Reputation: 6,798

Post » Fri May 20, 2016 1:46 am

@tallwhitey

I will try it, after integrating 3.x into plugins. There are some new features in 3.x, like notification.
B
108
S
26
G
271
Posts: 4,471
Reputation: 151,777

Post » Fri May 20, 2016 9:53 am

Update

Add rex_firebase_apiv3 plugin for firebase V3 api.
Update core plugins rex_firebase, rex_firebase_authentication to v3.
(Sample capx)
Edit: it works in firefox and chrome, both.

I will try to integrate my firebase plugins to support v2.x and v3.x at the same time. Now only rex_firebase, rex_firebase_authentication has updated. User should hold older firebase project until all my firebase plugins has ben updated.
Last edited by rexrainbow on Sat May 21, 2016 7:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
108
S
26
G
271
Posts: 4,471
Reputation: 151,777

Post » Fri May 20, 2016 11:12 am

@rexrainbow

Nice work! Where i can get API key of my app?
B
32
S
11
G
2
Posts: 196
Reputation: 3,560

Post » Fri May 20, 2016 1:17 pm

@norman74

You might start from here. Create a new firebase v3 project here, then you could get your api key in your project.
B
108
S
26
G
271
Posts: 4,471
Reputation: 151,777

Post » Sat May 21, 2016 5:33 pm

This is more of a general question. But I've been playing around with the plugin, and the LastData property seems a little limited when dealing with many real time references. If i have two listeners at different places looking for different data, and the second one fires before the callack from the first executes, it then uses the second reference's data.

I don't know if it's possible, but unless I'm not implementing it properly, it seems like you would need to assign a unique name to each LastData property, so that the firebase snapshot values won't be overwritten by other listeners. Is this correct, or am I not using the plugin correctly?
Thanks
B
6
S
1
Posts: 2
Reputation: 350

Post » Sat May 21, 2016 6:04 pm

@tallwhitey

You might try to put another (or more) rex_firebase object into project, or create a new rex_firebase instance for a specific reading procedure. Moreover, each individual rex_firebase could have private instance variable, you could pass the value by them to read handler.
B
108
S
26
G
271
Posts: 4,471
Reputation: 151,777

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests