[PLUGIN] Magicam for C2(Alpha 6.5 1/8/14)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:32 pm

As I mentioned a few weeks ago on the original Magicam thread, here is the beginning of the new version for C2 that I mentioned. It's early days still, but I'll give a link before I get into what's there and what's not:


UPDATED 1/8/14 TO ALPHA 6.5

Alpha 6.5 release notes:

Download Magicam Alpha 6.5 for Construct 2 (Includes example)

(FIX) Re-added the Un-follow object action after it was added in alpha 3 and then mysteriously vanished in every subsequent version.

(FIX) Zoom bounds would not be saved/loaded with the state of the game.


What's new:
  • Local cameras
  • Global cameras
  • One instance of Magicam plugin across all layouts, e.g. Keyboard, Mouse, etc.
What's currently implemented:
  • Multiple cameras
  • Multi-object weighted following
  • Zoom to contain for multi-object following
  • Smoothed following movement
  • Camera transitions
  • Camera shake
What's not implemented:
  • Area based scrolling, e.g. Metroid, MegaMan, etc.
  • Integer positioning
  • Camera rotation
  • Many other things
I'll just explain local/global cameras real quick. In the original plugin for CC you had an instance of the plugin on each layout - this is no longer the case. The plugin has one global instance. This allows you to have local cameras and global cameras. Local cameras are bound to a layout and its objects and are destroyed upon leaving the layout. Global cameras cross between layouts and will only follow objects that are global as well. I know in the past people asked me to fix the global issues with the original plugin, so I'm trying to make right on that this time around.

Ultimately, it's a pretty bare bones plugin right now, but I'm incredibly busy these days so it will have to do for now. I can't guarantee timely updates, but I would appreciate it if you would leave comments and any bugs you may find. Also be sure to mention which features you want to see return first and I'll see to prioritizing those.

Now have at it!linkman20042014-01-09 02:00:02
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:49 pm

Nice! That's some advanced camera tool.
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,055
Reputation: 22,644

Post » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:57 pm

Also i got a javascript error when i added "Set scroll smoothing" i left blank in field and it appears "Use{1} smoothing" in event list.
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,055
Reputation: 22,644

Post » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:53 pm

Awesome Linkman !
That was one of my preferred plugins during my time with CC and I must admit I'm glad to see it coming to C2.

I haven't tested it yet, but I'm just thrilled by the idea !
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:40 pm

Thanks for the comments guys, I really appreciate it. :)
[QUOTE=Joannesalfa] Also i got a javascript error when i added "Set scroll smoothing" i left blank in field and it appears "Use{1} smoothing" in event list.[/QUOTE]Ah, yes, I forgot to take that out - that's part of a feature I'm still working on and as such it doesn't actually do anything yet. The smooth movement when following objects is achieved by using the "Set follow lag" action.
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:00 am

Camera Transitions would be awesome, if there easing, unstabilize camera, etc.
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,055
Reputation: 22,644

Post » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:46 pm

That's brilliant, nice to see one of the best plugins for CC being remade for C2 !
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:45 pm

:) thanks linkman2004
Image
B
57
S
14
G
6
Posts: 493
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:02 pm

It works amazing well! But when I tryed to create a similar camera zoom effect like your example but with a hud menu, the camera zooms everything including the hud menu layer making the hud appear off screen.

Is there any way to zoom into sprites without making the hud apear off screen?
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:50 pm

Yes! I loved this on CC. Thanks for all your work.
B
19
S
5
G
4
Posts: 208
Reputation: 3,960

Next

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gamecorpstudio and 1 guest