[PLUGIN] Magicam for C2(Alpha 6.5 1/8/14)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:03 am

Thanks a lot buddy that worked perfectly.

I just checked the page thinking "there is no way they will have responded yet." but you took the time to explain it to me in a clear way.

You're amazing, thanks again,

Charlie
B
7
S
1
Posts: 20
Reputation: 686

Post » Sat Feb 15, 2014 3:55 pm

@linkman2004 hey did You ever consider adding simple easing for lag/transitions? Like ease in/out, or bounce in/out.

Edit: One more question. Is there a way to set different lag for player moving horizontally and vertically?

I would like to set lag ie. to 75 when player moves on X axis and to 50 for Y axis.shinkan2014-02-15 16:11:28
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:42 am

Fabulous! Many thanks for that essential plugin.

Cheers
Smolli
B
11
S
1
G
1
Posts: 81
Reputation: 892

Post » Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:29 pm

There's a little issue with magicam.

In attached file there are two layouts. In one GreenBox sprite is using scrollto behavior, in second one magicam follows GreenBox sprite.
If you run layout with scroll behavior you can see it scrolls smoothly. But in layout with magicam you can see it starts to shake after some time.
You only need to run Magicam layout and wait. It can happen straight away or after few second, but it will starts to shake every random amount of time.
I made background static so that "shake" is more visible.

Thought there is something with "Follow with lag" but it's happening using simple following even without any lag.

Edit: Especially in debugger. Shakiness is so strong that I'm unable to properly debug my project, I had to switch to system scrollXY.
Forgot to mention, my project have 30 objects in total, steady 60fps, Pixel rounding Off, Sampling Linear - tested in node webkit.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:11 am

@shinkan I'm pretty sure I know what's going on with the shaking. I'll try to take a look over the weekend if possible, but failing that, I don't know when I'll be able to look at it again. Fingers crossed.

Also, I was wondering if you could elaborate on your previous post about easing. Camera transitions already have an easing effect on them, although perhaps not as pronounced as one might like. Are you wanting to choose different types of easing?
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:14 pm

yes, few different types to choose would be really nice
and follow with offset ;), but no rush. Take your time.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:22 am

Sorry to ask, but could someone explain to me how to use global cameras? Say for instance, I want to be able to create a spectate mode while a player is dead, which would allow a person to spectate allies, regardless of the layout that they are currently on. Would a global camera allow for this? I searched and tried for a few hours, but I just can't seem to figure it out.
B
5
Posts: 11
Reputation: 272

Post » Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:55 pm

And one more thing, sorry for that but I love this plugin and I'm using it a lot xD
Could it be possible to add one more action (or combine existing one) to do a "Transition to point and zoom"?

I've noticed that doing it like:
+MagiCam: Camera "c": Transition to "some X value", "some Y value" in 0.5s
+MagiCam: Camera "c": Transition to zoom level "some zoom value" in 0.5s

don't always work in sync. Sometimes it moves to XY and then zooms a bit or vice versa - zooms and then move a bit.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Mon May 05, 2014 2:18 am

This might have been mentioned in previous comments since this original post, but what is meant by "area-based scrolling"?

And thank you for this plug-in! My friend, @ArcadEd recommended it to me for a game I'm working on that makes use of some particular zooming and scaling of layers to create a top-down depth effect. I'm looking forward to using this.
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
113
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,661

Post » Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:14 am

I was running into some performance issues and discovered Magicam is a chunk of it:
Image

The left side is with the magicam code disabled and using system actions, and the right is without system actions but with magicam. Everything else is the same. This is just idling after loading without moving around or anything.

Any ideas as to what is causing this, or what I can do to fix it?
B
10
S
4
G
1
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1,420

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ggman and 2 guests