[PLUGIN] Magicam for C2(Alpha 6.5 1/8/14)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:14 pm

Hello,
I'm having an issue with the magicam. When the layout reloads (after dying)it will not go back to my character and follow him. But it works on the initial start of the layout.

Here is a sample of the issue. (I'm probably missing some code or its a bug)
edit: This file!
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4FQlIOTI1g3aGdfU0Q5QU5fakU/edit?usp=sharing


Thanks
fixing this will really help as Scroll to isn't flexible enough for me.
farnsu2013-09-17 16:01:44
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 20
Reputation: 1,759

Post » Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:00 am

@farnsu - I'm not sure if you uploaded the wrong file or if you're implying that the problem exists in the example file, but I don't know what you're talking about from the linked file.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:48 pm

linkman
Edit" my bad i posted the wrong file, here is the proper file:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4FQlIOTI1g3aGdfU0Q5QU5fakU/edit?usp=sharing

From the file I sent if you die, by falling of the edge of the playable area, the layout restarts, but the magicam no longer follows the character when the layout restarts. That's the problem I'm having.

Thanks
Farnsufarnsu2013-09-17 16:00:33
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 20
Reputation: 1,759

Post » Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:12 am

New release, although it's mostly a bug fix. Thanks to @farnsu for pointing it out.

Also of note, however, is that I have switched to distributing a .c2addon file, so you can just drag and drop that into C2 to quickly install the plugin.

Alpha 6.2 release notes:

Download Magicam Alpha 6.2 for Construct 2 (Includes example)

(CHANGE) Now using .c2addon file for distribution.

(FIX) Fixed issue where restarting the layout would cause problems with local cameras created at the start of the layout.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Thu Sep 19, 2013 3:36 pm

Cool, link man.
I tested the camera on restart layout and it worked, I'm still having issues with restart layout but I'm pretty sure its not magicam, its my code.
As far as new features for magicam, it would be cool if you could constrain the camera to a path for awhile for cut scenes.

Thanks,
Farnsu
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 20
Reputation: 1,759

Post » Thu Sep 19, 2013 8:10 pm

@farnsu - No problem, man; I'm glad it helped you out. What issues are you having, specifically, with restart layout? I might be able to help you out on that one.

When it comes to camera paths, that's a feature I've considered before, but the complexity of such a thing is potentially high, depending on the implementation. It would likely require a system where you load in an XML file containing a series of camera moves. So, it's something I'll look into some more, but I can't promise anything.linkman20042013-09-19 20:10:43
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:07 am

New release, just a single bug fix.

Alpha 6.3 release notes:

Download Magicam Alpha 6.3 for Construct 2 (Includes example)

(FIX) Made attempt to fix crash when saving/loading the game with global cameras.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:58 am

@linkman2004

Is there a way to limit the Zoom to contain? Something like a min/max zoom? Right now, with parallax/layer scaling turned on, it's going past what should be the "edges" of the level when zooming, going to the edge of the largest layer.

It'd also be great if there were some way to set a minimum zoom, so that when, for example, two players are near each other the screen isn't zoomed in so far that they can't see the playfield around them.digitalsoapbox2013-11-04 04:59:59
Company Website: Link | Sombrero Website: Link | Twitter: Link
B
44
S
22
G
7
Posts: 345
Reputation: 8,415

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 3:40 pm

@digitalsoapbox - That should be fairly easy to implement, so I'll see what I can do. However, I'm incredibly busy right now, so no estimates on when I'll have an update out.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:11 pm

[QUOTE=linkman2004] @digitalsoapbox - That should be fairly easy to implement, so I'll see what I can do. However, I'm incredibly busy right now, so no estimates on when I'll have an update out.[/QUOTE]

Awesome! I've tried limiting it myself when the zoom gets above/below a specific zoom level using MagiCam.GetZoom and stopping it from cross those thresholds, but I end up with a strange scaling flutter near those ranges.
Company Website: Link | Sombrero Website: Link | Twitter: Link
B
44
S
22
G
7
Posts: 345
Reputation: 8,415

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: antares330 and 2 guests