[Plugin] Metro/Windows 8

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:29 pm

I doubt the differences between the official Win8 plugin by scirra and your metro plugin, i noticed the official doesn't come Live Tiles
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,055
Reputation: 22,646

Post » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:02 pm

Update:

Now the plugin supports In App Purchases! Complete with testing option - you don't have to publish the game to Windows Store to test it.

Please visit tutorial and plugin blog for more details!
B
18
S
7
G
5
Posts: 71
Reputation: 4,991

Post » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:06 pm

[QUOTE=Joannesalfa] I doubt the differences between the official Win8 plugin by scirra and your metro plugin, i noticed the official doesn't come Live Tiles[/QUOTE]

@Joannesalfa:
The official plugin is still lacking features. The plugin that I am working on currently has a lot more to offer: provide options in settings charm, Live Tiles(as you noted), Local Data, now In App Purchases with r6 and more in pipeline.

Please refer the manual for the complete list of features!

If you would like to have more features, let me know! :)iunkn2012-09-07 21:07:43
B
18
S
7
G
5
Posts: 71
Reputation: 4,991

Post » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:33 pm

Looks like a really good Plugin, but when i have installed the plugin and open Construct 2 i get the error message: Unable to load plugin in C:\ Cannot open file \plugins\metro\common.js This Plugin will not available in the editor
Any solution for this problem?
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 1
Reputation: 2,514

Post » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:59 pm

great plugin, i am going to test it out really soon!

thanks a lot for your great support.
B
41
S
11
G
4
Posts: 428
Reputation: 7,356

Post » Fri Sep 07, 2012 10:04 pm

[QUOTE=theSoenke] Looks like a really good Plugin, but when i have installed the plugin and open Construct 2 i get the error message: Unable to load plugin in C:\ Cannot open file \plugins\metro\common.js This Plugin will not available in the editor
Any solution for this problem?[/QUOTE]


Thanks for trying out. When you say you installed the plugin, did you run the install.cmd script from Admin command prompt? Please note that the script is assuming that system drive is C: and copies over things to C:. If your system partition is not C: please edit the install.cmd script to your system partition for example D: or something else. Make sure install.cmd succeeds fine.

Also are you getting the error on just opening Construct2 or opening the sample? Make sure that you are on r102.
B
18
S
7
G
5
Posts: 71
Reputation: 4,991

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:40 am

It makes me wonder why @Ashley doesn't support this plugin. The official one is going to be useless.
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,055
Reputation: 22,646

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:38 pm

[QUOTE=Joannesalfa] It makes me wonder why @Ashley doesn't support this plugin. The official one is going to be useless.[/QUOTE]

I had a chance to email ScirraSupport and @Ashley had replied back saying that they will not be able to integrate 3rd party plugins with ease due to legal and technical reasons (like different way of implementation etc,.)

But he did mention that the official plugin will add support for more features eventually.

Thank you for all your interest and support . I will keep releasing updates to the plugin as and when I add features to it.
B
18
S
7
G
5
Posts: 71
Reputation: 4,991

Post » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:04 am

Update:
Support added for handling snap mode better in Windows 8. See the new tutorialfor general guidance on layout/asset design for Windows 8 and how the plugin helps to handle the snap mode.
B
18
S
7
G
5
Posts: 71
Reputation: 4,991

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 10:27 am

Wow you work so fast! :)Your plugin is so much better than the offical one from Scirra. Thank you!Fredrik2012-09-21 10:28:44
B
5
S
1
G
3
Posts: 10
Reputation: 2,002

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest