[PLUGIN] Network v0.3a update***

Post and try out addons that are currently in development.

Post » Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:40 am

Hey SciDave, how's that packet loss bug looking?
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Tue Sep 27, 2011 4:18 pm

Hi Jayjay,

Am I correct that it only affects when initially establishing a connection? If that is the case, I think it can be solved with updating how the server assigned player numbers and also smartly not sending a flood of packets to all incoming clients when they are trying to join up. I've run into an odd bug where I can't get the server to send an update to just the current client...haven't had time to troubleshoot yet. I'll give it an hour or so this weekend and see if I can't find a solution. :-)
B
8
S
3
G
7
Posts: 835
Reputation: 5,313

Post » Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:41 pm

My additional suggestion:
- function to send binary data.
B
15
S
1
G
3
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,641

Post » Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:17 am

[QUOTE=scidave] Hi Jayjay,

Am I correct that it only affects when initially establishing a connection? If that is the case, I think it can be solved with updating how the server assigned player numbers and also smartly not sending a flood of packets to all incoming clients when they are trying to join up. I've run into an odd bug where I can't get the server to send an update to just the current client...haven't had time to troubleshoot yet. I'll give it an hour or so this weekend and see if I can't find a solution. :-)[/QUOTE]

Nope, this will fling any information sent back and forth once a packet has dropped. This may be a packet dropping occuring each time, but it still happens to all subsequent data.
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:33 am

[QUOTE=rafradek] My additional suggestion:
- function to send binary data.[/QUOTE]
How would you propose using this? How would you expect the data be read in?

@Jayjay - I'll make the update and test it out..hopefully it solves the problem..if not I'll have to dig deeper with wireshark and maybe do another testing session with you.scidave2011-09-28 04:33:36
B
8
S
3
G
7
Posts: 835
Reputation: 5,313

Post » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:32 pm

Binary data is used, for example, by image files. Useful feature would be sending the data.
B
15
S
1
G
3
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,641

Post » Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:01 pm

[QUOTE=scidave]@Jayjay - I'll make the update and test it out..hopefully it solves the problem..if not I'll have to dig deeper with wireshark and maybe do another testing session with you.[/QUOTE]

Okay, good luck SciDave.
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:25 pm

and change the category from game to internet!
B
15
S
1
G
3
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,641

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:07 pm

Hi scidave, just though I would see how things are coming along. Glad to see you are still able to make progress on this.

Good luck with future releases... I am still looking forward to them as the plugin becomes more powerful and streamlined. Too bad to hear about this packet loss bug... could explain the latency issues I have been having with seemingly very simple things.

Keep it up!

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:41 pm

Hey Soldjah! Alas..I have been so busy with work I haven't look at it for the past two weeks. I'm going to have to just throw up a network analyzer and do lots of packet captures to see what might be the problem.

Until then I would highly recommend not sending floats across the wire (in my example I'm not casting to int before sending which I should) and not sending updates every frame. Both of these, but especially sending every frame suck down mega bandwidth.

In the next release I might turn on rate limiting control. Right now it is auto controlled..I might have it configurable for the user so if they know that clients only have 56Kbs you can limit it to that.

Other things you can do to help...make your states as short as possible. For example, when sending a player position update.. Call the position "p" and check against this vs spelling it out. That will save 7 bytes of data per frame, etc...
B
8
S
3
G
7
Posts: 835
Reputation: 5,313

PreviousNext

Return to Work-in-progress addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests