[Plugin] Nickname, [Behavior] Nickname

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:31 pm

I created a video on how to make a quick "editor" type interface.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KiEWosU ... e=youtu.be
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
5
Posts: 10
Reputation: 250

Post » Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:23 am

Nickname question

In this example file i put together, it creates 10 instances of an object, then creates 10 objects based on a nickname and puts them into a family.

When i try and use the "Pick instances with matched substring in family " command to effect all of the created objects, it only effects the last one.

But if i use the "Pick Nickname instances in family" it will effect all of them.

Is the "matched substring pick not working? Or more likely i'm using it incorrectly.

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
87
S
44
G
16
Posts: 1,009
Reputation: 17,946

Post » Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:01 am

@justiffun
Thanks for this reporting, I will fix it in the weekend.
B
109
S
27
G
277
Posts: 4,481
Reputation: 154,922

Post » Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:58 pm

@rexrainbow

Oh good, i thought i was going crazy trying to understand why what i had didn't work. glad it was just a bug!

Thanks for looking into it.

keep up the great work!
B
87
S
44
G
16
Posts: 1,009
Reputation: 17,946

Post » Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:53 am

@justiffun
Sorry, the document is not clear enough.
B
109
S
27
G
277
Posts: 4,481
Reputation: 154,922

Post » Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:53 am

@justifun

Bug fixed, now these picking will pick matched instances from ALL instances.
B
109
S
27
G
277
Posts: 4,481
Reputation: 154,922

Post » Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:55 pm

Thanks Rex! You're the best!
B
87
S
44
G
16
Posts: 1,009
Reputation: 17,946

Post » Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:06 pm

@rexrainbow - I think i found another bug with the nickname plugin

see attached image
Image

The nickname ends up blank :( It never gets assigned to the object.
B
87
S
44
G
16
Posts: 1,009
Reputation: 17,946

Post » Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:22 am

@justifun

It will put instances into a family type only. If you know the object type exactly, you do not need nickname plugin.
B
109
S
27
G
277
Posts: 4,481
Reputation: 154,922

Post » Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:31 am

@rexrainbow - Is it possible to change the nick name of an object at runtime?

If not, how do you use that first action "assign nickname" then?
B
87
S
44
G
16
Posts: 1,009
Reputation: 17,946

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests