[PLUGIN] Paster

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:34 pm

Fixed the "paste object" action. It was a typo. Now it also uses an object's bounding box to cull instead of it's collision polygon.

Did the preliminaries for pasting objects with effects and transparency. Not working quite right for some reason, but it'll have to do for now. A side effect is paster object's now need twice as much vram.

The internal process is:
1. draw to a blank off-screen texture with an effect.
2. draw that texture to the paster's texture with opacity.
B
94
S
33
G
118
Posts: 5,396
Reputation: 75,853

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:34 pm

Awesome. Question: does it draw to the same size rectangle as the paster object or the object that is being pasted in? If the answer is paster, could it become the pastee?

I'm just assuming that the base object will nearly always be larger than what is being pasted in, so it would make sense to make a pastee sized object as the temp.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:05 pm

@Somebody
It uses a texture the same size as the paster object's texture. It's simpler since it can be created once. If the size of the object being pasted in was used the texture would have to be created and destroyed per object pasted. Also it would crash if you tried to paste in an object larger than the supported texture size.

That being said, I'll probably make it so the second texture will only be created once an object with an effect is pasted to save memory when it's not needed.
B
94
S
33
G
118
Posts: 5,396
Reputation: 75,853

Post » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:28 am

Thanks for the thorough explanation, R0J0 (man, your name is hard to type out). I'll make sure to test the new version with shaders (in a day or two), there was some weirdness there recently (color shifts on edges), perhaps it's fixed by this addition as well.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:15 am

Drawing with effects is currently an incomplete hybrid of how c2 internally draws them. The edge problem likely isn't fixed. The plugin needs to set the proper bounds for drawing.

I initially had o's instead of zeros in my username, but I lost the password and no longer had that email. It only has maybe 3 posts, and I imagine is a pm graveyard.
B
94
S
33
G
118
Posts: 5,396
Reputation: 75,853

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:18 am

Take a look

viewtopic.php?f=147&t=123965&p=881594&hilit=corpses

I'm not sure which is best plugin to use Paster or Canvas, I was wondering why paster won't paste corpses and blood in background besides canvas worked for me. I'm just asking for your opinion.
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:32 am

Joannesalfa wrote:Take a look

viewtopic.php?f=147&t=123965&p=881594&hilit=corpses

I'm not sure which is best plugin to use Paster or Canvas, I was wondering why paster won't paste corpses and blood in background besides canvas worked for me. I'm just asking for your opinion.



http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/649855

It's using two Pasters in the background. One for blood and one for bullet holes. There are no problems at all. Game runs fine on desktop (chrome, firefox, NW) and on Android Crosswalk (tested mainly on my Samsung Galaxy S3)
ImageImageImageImage
B
159
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,028

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:15 am

@shinkan

Your page looks like

http://i.imgur.com/9vXelyF.png

It doesn't show a live example to me. anyway, I made a .capx using one paster, why would use 2 pasters? It would consume more memory, I wish there are special particle conditions like on particle end or something else, I made ugly condition.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:39 am

R0J0hound Thanks you are always comes up gem
B
257
S
43
G
15
Posts: 1,993
Reputation: 41,537

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Joannesalfa wrote:@shinkan

Your page looks like

http://i.imgur.com/9vXelyF.png

It doesn't show a live example to me. anyway, I made a .capx using one paster, why would use 2 pasters? It would consume more memory, I wish there are special particle conditions like on particle end or something else, I made ugly condition.



Looks like game window is not showing for you...
gps.PNG


Why 2 pasters? because you can't do everything with only one paster. And one more paster don't take a lot of extra memory.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ImageImageImageImage
B
159
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,028

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests