[PLUGIN] Paster

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2015 4:18 am

I'm not saying it doesn't work in full screen. I'm saying that, if you use the High Quality Fullscreen scaling, it doesn't seem affect the plugin, and the scaling is still low quality (it looks the same with it on or off when you scale the screen size). I tested this by displaying the identical objects side-by-side. On one side, just rendered normally, and on the other first pasted on the paster and then displayed. The paster side looks blurry as the high-quality upsacaling doens't work. The paster was set to the same resolution as the project itself. Obviously if in increase the resolution of the Paster it looks better as I scale to higher resolutions, but having good upscaling work with it is nice since you don't always need high res.
B
11
S
2
G
3
Posts: 283
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2015 5:12 am

That's by design. The size of the texture can't be changed as easily as c2's drawing surface. One reason is the texture is cleared whenever it is resized, another is it isn't always desirable to have the paster's resolution match screen pixels.

Using digitalsoapbox's suggestion to use the "set resolution" action to the window size is the way to go to make resolution the same as screen pixels.
B
94
S
33
G
114
Posts: 5,359
Reputation: 73,779

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2015 5:59 am

R0J0hound wrote:That's by design. The size of the texture can't be changed as easily as c2's drawing surface. One reason is the texture is cleared whenever it is resized, another is it isn't always desirable to have the paster's resolution match screen pixels.

Using digitalsoapbox's suggestion to use the "set resolution" action to the window size is the way to go to make resolution the same as screen pixels.


Ah I see, thanks!
B
11
S
2
G
3
Posts: 283
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2015 6:52 am

Hmm I also think I found an issue with the Pin behavior. When I use the pin behavior and pin object B to object A, if i move object A the pinned object is delayed it seems (again, comparing side-by-side of the same exact thing with or without the paster). Is there some way to fix that?
B
11
S
2
G
3
Posts: 283
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Sun Mar 08, 2015 7:08 am

The pin behavior is run after the event sheet, so you either would have to wait till the next tick or position B with events before pasting.
B
94
S
33
G
114
Posts: 5,359
Reputation: 73,779

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:21 pm

@R0J0hound

i just love your work man!

I have 2 questions:
How can i set a bit different perspective on your paster_3d_6.capx
1. i would like to "tilt camera" a bit so that front of "buildings" is more visible like in isometric perspective.
2. how can i set various "height" of cubes...or in my case buildings? :)

thanx!!!
B
29
S
11
G
2
Posts: 697
Reputation: 5,173

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:00 pm

@irina
Both those can be done by transforming the points around. To tilt the view you can rotate on the y axis. In the capx the z axis is toward the screen, so to increase block heights you'd need to specify the Cubs be taller when using the function to create one.

The polygon sorting won't be satisfactory with the camera tilted though.
B
94
S
33
G
114
Posts: 5,359
Reputation: 73,779

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:01 pm

@R0J0hound

thanx, iw get height of cubes/buildings but that angle/tilt i can't pinpoint exactly where to make that adjustment... help? :oops:
B
29
S
11
G
2
Posts: 697
Reputation: 5,173

Post » Thu Mar 12, 2015 4:47 pm

@irina
You'd need to use the paster_3d_5.capx with the "rotate" function to be able to rotate the points on other axis. Where you'd rotate is right before where "draw3d()" was called then you'd need to undo the rotation right after.

Basically:
Call "rotate" 10 "y"
Call "draw3d"
Call "rotate" -10 "y"
B
94
S
33
G
114
Posts: 5,359
Reputation: 73,779

Post » Thu Mar 12, 2015 7:37 pm

@R0J0hound

i see... on 5th capx it works but not on 6th... :(
but still, thats not it...

Call "rotate" -10 "x"
Call "draw3d"
Call "rotate" 10 "x"

i am getting desired angle but its like entire world is tilted, so that bottom parts are moved too close to camera and top parts are more distant.

i was looking to make 3dboxes (just 3d objects, not the entire world) a bit "tilted"...

this is example what your 6th does:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/148996943/top3d.capx

and this is what i am trying to make:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/148996943/top3 ... ed%29.capx

any tips?

tnx!

edit:

maybe to somehow add layout zoom in/out linked to player X ?
B
29
S
11
G
2
Posts: 697
Reputation: 5,173

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests