[PLUGIN] Paster

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:14 pm

@digitalsoapbox
No plans really. It's rather involved and I lack to time to do it currently. Basically it takes understanding C2's renderer at a low level and reworking it in a drastic way. Previous attempts have run into a few issues:
* I wasn't able to get all the parameters passed to effects to be correct. I mostly understand the math the renderer uses, but none of it is useful for me, since i'm not dealing with screen sized or screen oriented rectangles.
* Multiple effects are done by juggling multiple textures, aka sprite with first effect is drawn to a blank texture, then that texture is drawn back to the screen with the second effect. More effects are done in a similar way, but at most I think only two temporary textures are ever needed. C2 does this easily by keeping some temporary textures the size of the canvas. For this plugin the size of the temporary textures depends on the size of the paster object, or basically each paster object will need 3x the amount of vram. Creating the temporary textures only when needed or trying to share a pool of them shared between all the paster objects were some ideas, but is more complex.

Anyways, unfortunately I won't be doing it anything soon.
B
94
S
33
G
113
Posts: 5,357
Reputation: 73,275

Post » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:27 pm

Cool, no worries, thanks for all the info!
B
84
S
46
G
25
Posts: 530
Reputation: 21,570

Post » Sat Apr 30, 2016 1:21 pm

Whether it is possible to change the plug-in so that it does not react with webgl. And then after export on android on some devices the image deteriorates . But if the project settings to deliver webgl off then everything works well, but is no longer working on the full screen
B
4
S
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 468

Post » Tue May 03, 2016 1:32 am

@navel35
To make it not use webgl just set set webgl to "off" in the project properties.

I don't use mobile exports so I don't know what's amiss.
B
94
S
33
G
113
Posts: 5,357
Reputation: 73,275

Post » Tue May 03, 2016 5:37 am

R0J0hound wrote:@navel35
To make it not use webgl just set set webgl to "off" in the project properties.

I don't use mobile exports so I don't know what's amiss.

Thank you
B
4
S
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 468

Post » Fri May 13, 2016 11:37 pm

@R0J0hound Hi, do you think you could make an example of how to make a Wallenstein type of game, but also with floor and celling, if that's even possible with this plugin? Thanks
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
91
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,149

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 3:03 am

@megatronix
It could be a while, I don't have a whole lot of time as of late.
The plugin doesn't really add much to assist with it. All the plugin would be used for is to draw slices of a texture.

The rest would mostly be raycasting.
B
94
S
33
G
113
Posts: 5,357
Reputation: 73,275

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:39 pm

How do I copy a section of the layer?
I tried copying the canvas, but it is the full window.

edit: Is the only way to copy texture to one paster object, and then paste into another?
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,127
Reputation: 38,395

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:50 pm

@prominent
That's not implimented. It proved to be rather complicated the times I looked into it before, and I've been avoiding any plugin modification at this time. So for now only individual objects can be pasted.
B
94
S
33
G
113
Posts: 5,357
Reputation: 73,275

Post » Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:56 pm

edit: nevermind. I had to put paster object behind everything.
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,127
Reputation: 38,395

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests