[Plugin] Spritefont (28th August 2012)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 11:41 am

[QUOTE=Nofish] Creat many sprite font objects, then destroy them, the ImageMemoryUsage not reduce. Is a BUG of this plugin or the C2? Someone can fix it?[/QUOTE]

@Nofish, due to my lack of expertise it is entirely possible that Spritefont is not properly releasing textures, however it was not intended to be created and destroyed in large quantities and rapid succession. Why do you need so many spritefont objects being created and destroyed? That is one of the poor practices in C2.

[QUOTE=California] Is there a demo of this plugin?
[/QUOTE]

@California, there are example capx in the first post, however they may be quite outdated now.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun May 26, 2013 12:56 pm

[QUOTE=Mipey] [QUOTE=Nofish] Creat many sprite font objects, then destroy them, the ImageMemoryUsage not reduce. Is a BUG of this plugin or the C2? Someone can fix it?[/QUOTE]

@Nofish, due to my lack of expertise it is entirely possible that Spritefont is not properly releasing textures, however it was not intended to be created and destroyed in large quantities and rapid succession. Why do you need so many spritefont objects being created and destroyed? That is one of the poor practices in C2.


@Mipey, I want to make an animation when the score changing.for example. +10, +24,+31 ,and make tween of the spritefont. If i use one spritefont to do this. The effect seen very strange.As I know ,your plugin is the best way to show a custom font in COCOOJS. Maybe i need to find a other way to do this.

anyhow, your plugin is very very useful to me. Thanks Mipey.
B
9
S
3
G
2
Posts: 54
Reputation: 2,468

Post » Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:12 pm

The Sprite Font plugin is the most valuable single plugin that I use, and I believe many other people use it also. However, with 133 it is completely broken.

I believe the de-duplicating function is incorrectly assuming all instances of the sprite font can share the same texture and trashing the rest.

Is there anyone capable of having a look to see what the actual problem is and if it can be fixed?
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:30 am

I was playing with SpriteFont plugin I realise I am unable to use the "space" character. I have a LED display and I want for the space char not to be blank. Anyone have any idea how to do that?
example capxCipriux2013-06-08 00:33:52
B
64
S
15
G
20
Posts: 469
Reputation: 16,027

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:12 am

you need a space in the character set and a corresponding "space" in your texture.
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:18 am

133 breaks my entire sprite-font reliant project as well. Should I make a separate sprite font png for each object as a workaround?Greg2013-06-08 04:18:58
B
9
Posts: 59
Reputation: 997

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:55 am

I didn't know that Sprite Font breaks in r133 only to realize that I was using the old version (v6). I'm not sure if the changes was crucial between version 8 and 6, but I use 6 and its enough for my needs (and works with r133).
B
21
S
5
G
5
Posts: 58
Reputation: 5,232

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:52 pm

@soybean how can I check what version I have?

EDIT: nevermind..found itCipriux2013-06-08 19:56:31
B
64
S
15
G
20
Posts: 469
Reputation: 16,027

Post » Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:46 pm

I'm guessing there is an issue with deduplication feature; the issue is also affecting other plugins (9-Patch). In another thread Ashley said it should be fixed in the next release (if I'm reading it correctly).
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sun Jun 16, 2013 2:29 am

Thx for awesome plugin. It works well with alphabets but not with other languages like Hangul. I wish C2 would support diverse real font but this is still a great alternative.
B
23
S
8
G
1
Posts: 172
Reputation: 2,778

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Josek5494 and 1 guest