[Plugin] Spritefont (28th August 2012)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:46 am

UPDATE!

Apparently I'm on a roll today.

- WebGL is now fully supported
- added "force point sampling" property (only works in WebGL, useful if you use pixel font)
- added horizontal and vertical spacing (kerning and line spacing) - can use this to get letters closer togetherMipey2011-11-23 10:47:06
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:15 am

Excellent plugin. This will be very useful. Thanks Mipey!

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:15 am

Hey Mipey. I think there's a bug in the latest build. Seems to work fine when previewing my game but the characters don't show up at all in the exported version. (Not using WebGL.)
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:07 pm

[QUOTE=Tokinsom] Hey Mipey. I think there's a bug in the latest build. Seems to work fine when previewing my game but the characters don't show up at all in the exported version. (Not using WebGL.)[/QUOTE]
Fixed.

Google Closure's javascript minifier is one odd thing... I was using a structure (var tile = { "w":0, "h":0 ... }), which was improperly minified. Turns out that property names must not be enclosed in double quotes. The issue that Ashley once warned about was not to use Object["property"] notation, but it didn't occur to me that also included curly brackets.

Well, javascript level up for me. Thanks for spotting the issue!
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:04 pm

Wow, this is a godsend for a project I'm currently working on with random points popping up on the screen. I had created my own string to sprites font "engine" using events but it was somewhat bugged and laggy with lots of points at the same time, so thanks a ton for creating this!
B
88
S
33
G
7
Posts: 31
Reputation: 8,425

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:28 pm

I love you Mipey.
B
58
S
20
G
7
Posts: 305
Reputation: 8,804

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:31 pm

Works fine now. Thanks for checking it out!
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:59 pm

Hey i've been trying go get it to work with a BMFont exported font image. I tweaked export options on BMFont as best i could to make it compatible with the Plugin. It failed of course :| . So i ask would it be possible to make the plugin read the characters locations XML exported by BMFont ? Or is there a sure way to arrange the charset image on a image editor ? I couln't follow the tutorial on first page at all. I used Paint.Net maybe with Photoshop ?Kiyoshi2011-11-24 18:00:31
B
58
S
13
G
10
Posts: 632
Reputation: 12,505

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:20 pm

Oh, I just type out a string of characters, paste them into Paint.NET, adjust them as needed (in one row or several rows, either work fine, though the latter is better for compatibility with older cards) and there we go.

As far as BMFont goes, I couldn't figure out how to export properly tiled charmap... Of course I could adjust the spritefont to work with xml, but I have no idea how to reliably load external files. So, yeah... sorry. :(
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Well, ok then, thanks anyway :|
B
58
S
13
G
10
Posts: 632
Reputation: 12,505

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DragoMej and 3 guests