png Vs. jpg

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:01 pm

I thought this one was solved. I read a blog about the feature that determines image file type on export. Now tell me where the !@$@#% switch is....   

Ahh, here it is...

www.scirra.com/manual/129/image-formatLoki20202012-01-15 18:16:52
B
22
S
7
G
3
Posts: 41
Reputation: 2,751

Post » Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:44 pm

@Loki2020 yep, this was added recently. You might find this blog post interesting too: http://www.scirra.com/blog/66/image-compression-in-construct-2
Scirra Founder
B
357
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,298

Post » Sun Jan 15, 2012 7:55 pm

As you proly know I am doing a relatively graphically intense project. I just used the image editor to convert the BGs to JPG instead of PNGs. This process did a fairly good job on most of my HD images accept two of the ten looked so-so, and one looked like crap. I decided use PS CS5 to replace the offending JPGs. Now all looks great and all i had to do was upload the revised JPGs.

original BG PNGs 10 x 500kb     = 5000kb
construct JPGs 75% 10 x 50kb    = 500kb

final:
construct JPGs 75% 7 x 50kb +
my revised jpg's 80% 3 x 120kb = 710kbLoki20202012-01-15 20:19:35
B
22
S
7
G
3
Posts: 41
Reputation: 2,751

Post » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:34 pm

@Loki2020

I know this is an older post, but just wondering what resolution are you using for your game? and is there action going on,on top of these background images?

I'm trying to do 1920x1080 backgrounds for a space action shooter. And when my backgrounds are png or jpg, it slows the framerate considerably.. I get about 46fps and it's visible in the action. All sprite movement seems to pause for a nano second or 2 making it look jumpy.

when I export the game to run on Mac OSX or Windows it's fine and there's no framerate issue. But my tests are all in dropbox, so maybe that could be the issue? But I wasn't having this problem until I upped the resolution (from 1280x720) and added new background images.

any suggestions would be helpful!
B
51
S
13
G
7
Posts: 929
Reputation: 8,390

Post » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:18 pm

[QUOTE=jobel] @Loki2020
nano second or 2 making it look jumpy.
[/QUOTE]

not a nano second.. a millisecond!

I have an older computer, but when I run this I only get 30fps.

capx

When my full game that I am working on has 100+ events, collision detection etc.. and runs at 60fps.. but when I add the nice space background it runs awful (in preview mode anyhow).jobel2014-01-09 21:20:18
B
51
S
13
G
7
Posts: 929
Reputation: 8,390

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: humanescape and 10 guests