Poll: Do you have a 64-bit OS?

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:39 pm

Just curious how many of you have a 64-bit OS. To check for Vista or Windows 7, go Start, right-click Computer, select Properties, and it's listed under 'System type' (eg. "64-bit operating system"). I've forgotten how to check on XP :P

Note this is different to having a 64-bit CPU. You can still install a 32-bit OS on a 64-bit CPU, and most CPUs these days support 64-bit, but I'm sure there are still a lot of 32-bit OSs around (mainly due to XP).

I'm not going to be coding anything 64-bit any time soon (the only benefit is possibly a small performance gain on 64-bit systems, and involves substantial code maintenance), but it'd be interesting to know how far 64 bit has gotten these days.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:17 pm

32 versus 64
the past against the future.
---
the past takes the first place. :lol:
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 102
Reputation: 1,304

Post » Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:26 pm

I used to, having the 64-bit Windows 7 RC installed for a little bit, but I thought it was the cause of driver problems with my cheap Bluetooth headset and switched to 32-bit. That problem turned out to actually be Microsoft's removal of Bluetooth audio drivers from Windows.

I slowly cry myself to sleep every night, now.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:03 pm

64bit OS and quad cpu here and wouldn't look back. The only time I've come up against incompatibilities was badly written software, but I've rarely ever had something that failed to run at all. Except "Platform Studio" which is why I ended up finding Construct. I dunno if they fixed it now, but it doesn't matter, the way they kinda hid the whole not quite as free as we'd like you to believe thing, put me off.
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:00 pm

both 32 (lappy) and 64 (desktop) bit here, so I can make a fair comparison.

64 bit's main benefit seem to be just access to my full 4Gb RAM. 64 bit dll's can't link to 32 bit program (nor can 32bit link to 64) so this bring incopatibilities in software that takes plugins... such as photoshop. Yeah. Don't go 64 bit there.

Games are usually 32 bit... yet logitech insisted to force 64bit install on my wheel's drivers, so I get no force feedback (at least I think that's the reason).... so..... no gain, really, unless you need to handle huge memory loads.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:12 am

I would probably use 64 bit but my soundcard which is audigy SE doesn't rly work with even normal 32bit drivers I need some special drivers that took months to find and i'm too scared and lazy to try find new ones that would work...
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 622
Reputation: 3,186

Post » Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:38 pm

I'm using 32bit Vista right now, planning on going up to 64bit windows 7 when i build my new PC.

Also the poll seems to be broken for me: The submitted form was invalid. Try submitting again.
B
7
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 2,418

Post » Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:55 pm

[quote="Sagal":3f21x4nh]audigy SE doesn't rly work with even normal 32bit drivers[/quote:3f21x4nh]
That's strange. I have one of those waiting for a motherboard replacement so it can fit along my monster-sized videocard. Driver support was excellent in the past.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:47 pm

win7 64 here
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:48 am

Win7 32.

I have ZERO interest in 64-bit right now. It's a minor increase in performance for select software, and making 64-bit software for anyone other than professionals right now, is silly.

Besides, Windows 8 may be 128-bit when released ...
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 156
Reputation: 1,762

Next

Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests