Pong clone

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:16 pm

I need to make one for my college course. I tried looking up a youtube tutorial that was an hour long that used Construct 2 and it showed me how to do it step by step, but at one point it stopped working for various reasons.
I knew this because he went to test it at that point in the video and it worked for him but not me. I had followed his steps as best I could but it's not working and now I have no clue as to where the problem is.

Could anyone tell me how to make a simple (very simple) pong game with contruct? It needs 2 paddles, a ball, and preferably a score-keeping system.

Also bear in mind I don't really know my way around construct 2 quite yet.
If you could link me to a video tutorial,
(not this one)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcBDetkWo0M

or give me precise instructions or even send me a working event sheet, I would be very grateful.
B
4
Posts: 24
Reputation: 348

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:41 am

Hm. Two paddle sprites; one controlled by keyboard, the other by Ball.X/Y with some randomization. Ball has bullet behavior, setting "Bounce off solids" to Yes and setting the paddles to solid. When Ball.X/Y = off-screen, add a point (global variables) to the winning side, then respawn the ball on Space Pressed. Solid objects on the top and bottom (just off-screen, aligned with the layout borders) for the ball to bounce off of. Every 10 or so seconds, increase Ball.Bullet.Speed by 50 or so. Reset speed and position when off-screen.
B
26
S
5
G
1
Posts: 62
Reputation: 2,335

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:01 am

Here you go:

pong game
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:10 pm

Thanks Saint Mike, I knew most of that already, it's pretty simple stuff I agree, but it's more complicated than that to me. It takes more than just setting up those settings and things for it to work.

Wink that's really helpful. If I may, I'm going to look over it and pretty much copy it, replacing your sprites with mine. It's only for college, I'm not going to try to sell it (pffft) or put it up as my own work here. It's just to show on Monday to my class and then that's it.
B
4
Posts: 24
Reputation: 348

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:42 pm

Sure no problem Pongboy. When its time for your senior thesis let me know, and you can look over mine then just copy it, and replace my name with yours. Just kidding, one thing I just noticed that you might want to change is look in the objects window and click on Puck. Then look in the Pucks property window under the bullet behavior, and change set angle form yes to no. I made that game a while ago with an older version of C2, and I think one of the newer updates messed it up.
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:15 pm

I'm having trouble with the event sheet. I can't get the AI_Score instance variable done as it says it doesn't exist. How did you set up the AI_Score and Player_Score instance variables?
It's event 10 if you can check. How did you do that? I'm stuck on the first event as I need event 10 up to have the first event something to operate on.
B
4
Posts: 24
Reputation: 348

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:49 pm

I didn't use instance variables those are global variables. If you look at the top of the event sheet you will see global number AI_Score, and Player_Score. If you double click on them they will open , and you can change them if you need to.

I'm not sure what your asking. What are you trying to do?
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:54 pm

How do I make a Global Variable then? At the top of the sheet like you did?
EDIT
Nevermind, I right clicked and added them. I'll need help later by the looks of things though.Pongboy2012-09-21 17:55:18
B
4
Posts: 24
Reputation: 348

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:01 pm

Ok, just ask when you need more help. I might not be able to reply right away I'm at work right now but I will keep checking this thread whenever I can.
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:04 pm

On the second event you have the "Get Ready text" set to visible.
How did you get to select the Get Ready text?
Under "Mouse: set cursor to none" is what I'm talking about.

EDIT

Nevermind AGAIN, it was invisible. I'll make sure the answer isn't obvious to me next time I get stuck...Pongboy2012-09-21 18:06:47
B
4
Posts: 24
Reputation: 348

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: a1oleg, DemantDigitalArt, GSquadron, jeffige, MarkThomas, paala and 22 guests