Populate C

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:46 pm

I know, C3 will be HTML5 as usual, but I'm interested to know how this kind of competition might affect the forthcoming C3 release:

Export C Code & Populate C In Real Time Users are able to export their product from Fusion 3’s visual interface to C code at the press of a button. Impressively the new development environment also supports the ability to populate C code as you work.


http://www.brokenjoysticks.net/2016/03/19/clickteam-fusion-3-hopes-revolution-indie-game-development-world-premiere/
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:46 pm

Zebbi wrote:how this kind of competition might affect the forthcoming C3 release

If any.
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:47 pm

Probably not at all. I mean what would most users do with such source code? It won't look very readable since a lot of things would have to be done in c to match the events. It's kind of like manipulating the js of an exported project if it wasn't obfuscated.

What get's me from watching the second video is it looks like things are still have the same design they had from Klik n play.
B
92
S
32
G
106
Posts: 5,272
Reputation: 69,455

Post » Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:22 am

R0J0hound wrote:Probably not at all. I mean what would most users do with such source code? It won't look very readable since a lot of things would have to be done in c to match the events. It's kind of like manipulating the js of an exported project if it wasn't obfuscated.

What get's me from watching the second video is it looks like things are still have the same design they had from Klik n play.

Struck me that way too, they added some switch slidey bits (probably to appeal to touch users?) but left in the chessboard and bouncing ball defaults.

And good point with that js similarity.
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:12 am

It might look a bit better than than the js but still. The resulting code will be very much dependent on their runtime and most things that would be possible to tweak would be better made into a plugin I'd think.
B
92
S
32
G
106
Posts: 5,272
Reputation: 69,455

Post » Sat Mar 26, 2016 9:02 am

This feature sounds much more useful:
"Modular Design – Power users are able to develop new editors, tools and extensions directly from within Fusion 3 without the need for writing extensions in other IDE environments. Essentially this means that you can code new functions and behaviours into Fusion 3 within fusions itself."
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,715

Post » Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:02 am

glerikud wrote:This feature sounds much more useful:
"Modular Design – Power users are able to develop new editors, tools and extensions directly from within Fusion 3 without the need for writing extensions in other IDE environments. Essentially this means that you can code new functions and behaviours into Fusion 3 within fusions itself."

Yeah, I *THINK* C3 is going for something like this?
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:25 am

Zebbi wrote:
glerikud wrote:This feature sounds much more useful:
"Modular Design – Power users are able to develop new editors, tools and extensions directly from within Fusion 3 without the need for writing extensions in other IDE environments. Essentially this means that you can code new functions and behaviours into Fusion 3 within fusions itself."

Yeah, I *THINK* C3 is going for something like this?

Ashley said that after the release of C3 there might be a possibility for that too, but just as a later feature. I think it's an important (and very complex, thus hard to make) feature. Almost everyone is talking about this right now in the visual programming area, and there are engines that are under development to support this (for ex.: Clickteam Fusion 3, Spark Engine).
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,715

Post » Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:27 pm

R0J0hound wrote:Probably not at all. I mean what would most users do with such source code? It won't look very readable since a lot of things would have to be done in c to match the events. It's kind of like manipulating the js of an exported project if it wasn't obfuscated.


Yeah, you can do this if you export to NW without minifying and I've actually found that pretty useful in a couple of situations. It would be kinda cool if Construct 3 let you manipulate the underlying code at will before export, but not necessarily worth it for the devs to add that functionality within the program.
FREEDOM: Diegesis - Out Now for Windows! http://freedom.quicksandgames.com
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 83
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:01 pm

Quicksand wrote:
R0J0hound wrote:Probably not at all. I mean what would most users do with such source code? It won't look very readable since a lot of things would have to be done in c to match the events. It's kind of like manipulating the js of an exported project if it wasn't obfuscated.


Yeah, you can do this if you export to NW without minifying and I've actually found that pretty useful in a couple of situations. It would be kinda cool if Construct 3 let you manipulate the underlying code at will before export, but not necessarily worth it for the devs to add that functionality within the program.

Good point, could be interesting if changes in the code could reflect in the editor.
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests