Portable C2 on a Mac with Windows emulator?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Mar 15, 2014 10:40 pm

Hi,
The kids in my school coding club love C2, but many only have Macs at home.

Will portable installations of C2 on USB sticks work on Macs running Windows emulators?
Cheers :)
B
6
S
1
Posts: 18
Reputation: 444

Post » Sat Mar 15, 2014 10:51 pm

Yeah they can.
I have C2 running on my Mac with Bootcamp and Windows7.
Image
Check out our start-up and configure your own helmet in true 3D.
B
44
S
11
G
11
Posts: 1,154
Reputation: 9,978

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:35 am

Depends on your definition of an emulator.
If what you're actually talking about is a hypervisor, sure. It should run rather nicely under Parallels.

If, however, you're talking about something like Wine (short for Wine Is Not an Emulator), the answer sadly is no.
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 10:20 am

Works fine. I have VMWare Fusion 6.0 with Windows 7 running on my Macbook Air with 8GB. Runs like a charm. Everything works, Live Preview and Preview on my iPad.

I even tried it on my very old Mac Mini with only 2GB Ram. I have Parallels 6 on this one as this is the last one compatible with Snow Leopard on a 32bit machine. No webgl though, so the examples and the event sheets work (the games rather slow, but they are playable), the editor-view is black unfortunately, so I can't use it there :( Would have been nice, but the MBA is much faster anyway.
B
11
S
1
G
1
Posts: 81
Reputation: 892

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:04 pm

I never used any emulator like parrallels or vfusion. How is the Switch between emulator and OS? Is there any exchange folder or method?

I would like to store my graphic programs on Mac part.
Image
Check out our start-up and configure your own helmet in true 3D.
B
44
S
11
G
11
Posts: 1,154
Reputation: 9,978

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:56 pm

I would call it pretty much seamless. In VMWare Fusion There is the Unity Mode which Hildes away the Desktop and all programs are in their own windows, leaving the impression it's all Mac.

I have all my files and images on the mac in a synched folder from copy ( a service like dropbox). I would really say, that it works perfectly. The battery drain is somewhat bigger of course, but enough to work for hours inside C2. I do quit Windows though, before going to a longer stand-by mode, as it keeps draining the batteries more than without Windows running.
B
11
S
1
G
1
Posts: 81
Reputation: 892


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: didakcode, Stweve and 8 guests