Porting from Gamemaker

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:03 pm

Ok, thanks for the suggestions!
I will try to make my own creation event with containers and/or value checking; it should not be difficult.

Concerning the Platform School I've red the first lesson for now.... very good tutorial!

[quote:2n340lj1]Maybe it would be good to have "Construct for Gamemaker Users" tutorials.[/quote:2n340lj1]

Agree! :)
B
1
G
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 831

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 6:50 am

As far as intuitiveness is concerned, most of my problems are with the image editor and animations right now. The animation tab really shouldn't exist, and there's plenty of room in the image editor for all its functions that right now doesn't seem to do anything. Right now you have to close an image then switch from a more useful tab to "animations," make a new animation that AFAIK you can't rename, then open it (Which also opens the first animation for some reason).

There are too many things in general which make you close out of windows to change, such as object properties while in the event sheet, even though there's still a big list of objects to the side which stop functioning like they would in the layout editor.

As far as the tabs go, right now I use "resources" as a dummy tab (Because right now none of its features seem to work) to keep the main window from resizing, then drag out each of the other windows so they can stack vertically. Otherwise it's too much of a break in pace to switch from "project" to "layers" all the time. I wish you could use some of that massive blank space to the right of the ribbon, as well.

As far as the image editor is concerned, it's probably just a work in progress but there's a few things worth mentioning. The eraser tool is just the brush tool set to transparent. It would save huge amount of time letting the user just select transparency with the brush, especially with Ctrl+Left click. Image points cannot be ordered or deleted. They are always alphabetical. If I want to use them in a formula I have to preface them with 1,2,3 etc. If I get the order wrong I have to replace every single one; and with both image points and hotspots, you cannot enter text coordinates so this also makes it more difficult.

It's also very difficult to get a tooltip on an object to show up. It seems to show up once per click, then disappears forever when you move the mouse at all. The tooltips, being the only way to tell which layer an object is on, also start being a problem when they tell you every object is apparently on layer *?*. Probably just a minor bug though.

I don't mean this as a negative rant. I love construct and it's awesome. These are just some observations. Much respect to the work you guys have done.
B
4
G
6
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,514

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:54 am

[quote="dustingunn":1mhofcad]new animation that AFAIK you can't rename[/quote:1mhofcad]

You can rename animations... select the animation and change the name in the properties box.

[quote="dustingunn":1mhofcad]right now I use "resources" as a dummy tab (Because right now none of its features seem to work)[/quote:1mhofcad]

The Resources tab works, it's just not feature complete. You can store sounds and other types of files in Binary, which get compiled into the .exe. You can also change the application icon. Fonts aren't implemented yet, and I'm not sure about menu items because I've never had need to change the app menu.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:40 am

[quote="deadeye":5xhe7fsj][quote="dustingunn":5xhe7fsj]new animation that AFAIK you can't rename[/quote:5xhe7fsj]

You can rename animations... select the animation and change the name in the properties box.

[quote="dustingunn":5xhe7fsj]right now I use "resources" as a dummy tab (Because right now none of its features seem to work)[/quote:5xhe7fsj]

The Resources tab works, it's just not feature complete. You can store sounds and other types of files in Binary, which get compiled into the .exe. You can also change the application icon. Fonts aren't implemented yet, and I'm not sure about menu items because I've never had need to change the app menu.[/quote:5xhe7fsj]

Oh, that's cool then. Another thing I've discovered is animation angles right now have nothing but the most obscure of uses. They change automatically when you rotate a sprite, and unless I'm mistaken they can't be changed otherwise. I can't think of a single situation where this would be useful, as apposed to animation directions being completely separate from angles and able to be changed through events, which is really useful.
B
4
G
6
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,514

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:48 am

I agree, angles should not have to do with animation angles. That should be seperate actions and conditions.

It's pretty much only a hindrance this way. The only way around it that I can see is to make seperate animations for each direction you want if you intend to have rotation. Say, if I have a picture of a fist turned right, I might want it to rotate full 360s to punch a face. But I would also like it to be able to do this in the other direction, and I add a mirrored frame to the 180 angle, but then I am screwed for the rotation to look good as the fist will constantly flip every 180 degrees no matter the inital direction.
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:03 am

[quote="dustingunn":3oedi4d3]Oh, that's cool then. Another thing I've discovered is animation angles right now have nothing but the most obscure of uses. They change automatically when you rotate a sprite, and unless I'm mistaken they can't be changed otherwise.[/quote:3oedi4d3]

Well... yes they can. You can set a sprite to "No rotation" in the properties, or a few of the built-in behaviors have additional rotation settings. You can then set the angle to whatever you like with actions. If you set an angle of a sprite with no pre-defined animation angles, then it will simply turn the sprite. If there are any pre-defined angles then the sprite will adopt the animation angle closest to it's current angle.

[quote="konjak":3oedi4d3]I agree, angles should not have to do with animation angles. That should be seperate actions and conditions.

It's pretty much only a hindrance this way. The only way around it that I can see is to make seperate animations for each direction you want if you intend to have rotation. Say, if I have a picture of a fist turned right, I might want it to rotate full 360s to punch a face. But I would also like it to be able to do this in the other direction, and I add a mirrored frame to the 180 angle, but then I am screwed for the rotation to look good as the fist will constantly flip every 180 degrees no matter the inital direction.[/quote:3oedi4d3]

In that case, don't use animation angles... have a separate animations for "Fist left" and "Fist right," with only one angle each.

Though I agree the whole animation angles thing might be a little confusing.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:09 am

Well, yes, I said that was a possible way AROUND it, but why need a way around it? Could I get an example of a use for how the setup is now?

If you have a picture for ever 360 degrees you don't need the rotation to begin with. If you almost have one for every picture you might as well use rotation because you're not gonna get a much cleaner image. And even if you do have one for nearly every direction a seperate animation angle command isn't exactly harder to handle, plus it lets you have both rotation and animation angle at once with comfort.

Also, how do you retrieve the transparent color in the image editor? It would be nice and comfortable.
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:56 am

I knew about turning off angular rotation, but then, you couldn't rotate the sprite! It'd be a strange feature if the only way you could use it was to disable one of the most common and useful abilities.
B
4
G
6
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,514

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:37 pm

I don't understand what all this angle stuff is about? They're an integral part of animations; the only way you wouldn't use them is if you're using a behavior like car, maybe platform and a few others. Ones like Grid, 8 direction etc need angles to behave as you'd expect. If I make an RPG and use Grid Behavior, do I want my right direction rotated 90 degrees to my south direction? Or do I want to draw it to look different using angles..

Then you factor in custom engines or other uses etc, and not using angles only applies to a very specific set of genres or concepts.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:11 pm

If you only need one animation angle, just draw your object at 0 degrees and as you say, it'll smoothly rotate through 360 degrees. However, there are lots of cases of animations where objects can't be rotated automatically through 360 degrees. As Rich said, pokemon-style grid games use a different image for each of the four directions you can move in. Isometric games use a different animation usually for eight different angles - you absolutely can't let one image rotate through 360 degrees for that!

dustingunn, some of your points are legitimate bugs. If you report them to the bug tracker they can be fixed. While the forums are a good place to discuss things like the purpose of animation angles, they're not very good for bug reports (the tracker is one central collection of all reports so we don't need to search through forums; bugs have open/closed statuses; people can attach files; each bug has its own comment thread; bugs can be assigned to developers; developers can request further information, etc etc).
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest