Possible Audio bug on iPad

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:30 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):

Simple Test Game created to debug problem
http://www.brotechentertainment.com/test/test_single_file.capx

Steps to reproduce:

1. Click Test Button to Play test Sound "Boing"

2. Link to test sound URL
   http://www.brotechentertainment.com/test/media/boing_x.m4a

3. Added .htaccess file as instructed to root directory for game
Contents of .htaccess file
AddType video/ogg .ogv
AddType application/ogg .ogg
AddType video/mp4 .mp4
AddType video/webm .webm
AddType audio/aac .aac
AddType audio/mp4 .mp4 .m4a
AddType audio/mpeg .mp1 .mp2 .mp3 .mpg .mpeg
AddType audio/ogg .oga .ogg
AddType audio/wav .wav
AddType audio/webm .webm

Observed result:
No Sounds play on iPad iOS 6 after trying all recommendations
from C2 Developers.
All sound OK on ANDROID devices

Expected result:
Button clicks should play sound on iPad as they do on ANDROID
and Exloper, and Chrome, and Mozilla

Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes/no = YES
Firefox: yes/no =YES
Internet Explorer: yes/no =YES

Operating system & service pack:
iPad iOS 6
Construct 2 version:
Release 114
Build 15:56:53

Note: I am only posting this here after trying all other possible solutions. Since the sounds "can" play directly from my host server via the URL link on the iPad, I must presume that the .htaccess and server are set up properly.
Next, the test game is extremely simple, by design, in order to debug this problem. I created a button count event to ensure that the TOUCH event executes the loop and increments the count and plays the sound.

Please let me know if there is something wrong in the test code itself for how I am Pre-loading or playing the sound. I have had a C2 developer look at this problem on a previous forum post and the code seemed ok.

Original Froum Posting
http://www.scirra.com/forum/audio-music-mime-question_topic62244_page1.html

Thank you for any help in advance.
BTW, I absolutely LOVE "Construct 2" as a FORMER GAME MAKER programmer,
who switched on 12-7-2012 and purchased Construct 2. :)
B
5
Posts: 58
Reputation: 916

Post » Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:31 pm

Sorry I forgot the link to the game itself
http://www.brotechentertainment.com/test/index.html
B
5
Posts: 58
Reputation: 916

Post » Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:37 pm

[QUOTE=balistrerinick] Link to .capx file (required!):

Simple Test Game created to debug problem
http://www.brotechentertainment.com/test/test_single_file.capx
http://www.brotechentertainment.com/test/index.html

Steps to reproduce:

1. Click Test Button to Play test Sound "Boing"

2. Link to test sound URL
   http://www.brotechentertainment.com/test/media/boing_x.m4a

3. Added .htaccess file as instructed to root directory for game
Contents of .htaccess file
AddType video/ogg .ogv
AddType application/ogg .ogg
AddType video/mp4 .mp4
AddType video/webm .webm
AddType audio/aac .aac
AddType audio/mp4 .mp4 .m4a
AddType audio/mpeg .mp1 .mp2 .mp3 .mpg .mpeg
AddType audio/ogg .oga .ogg
AddType audio/wav .wav
AddType audio/webm .webm

Observed result:
No Sounds play on iPad iOS 6 after trying all recommendations
from C2 Developers.
All sound OK on ANDROID devices

Expected result:
Button clicks should play sound on iPad as they do on ANDROID
and Exloper, and Chrome, and Mozilla

Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes/no = YES
Firefox: yes/no =YES
Internet Explorer: yes/no =YES

Operating system & service pack:
iPad iOS 6
Construct 2 version:
Release 114
Build 15:56:53

Note: I am only posting this here after trying all other possible solutions. Since the sounds "can" play directly from my host server via the URL link on the iPad, I must presume that the .htaccess and server are set up properly.
Next, the test game is extremely simple, by design, in order to debug this problem. I created a button count event to ensure that the TOUCH event executes the loop and increments the count and plays the sound.

Please let me know if there is something wrong in the test code itself for how I am Pre-loading or playing the sound. I have had a C2 developer look at this problem on a previous forum post and the code seemed ok.

Original Froum Posting
http://www.scirra.com/forum/audio-music-mime-question_topic62244_page1.html

Thank you for any help in advance.
BTW, I absolutely LOVE "Construct 2" as a FORMER GAME MAKER programmer,
who switched on 12-7-2012 and purchased Construct 2. :)[/QUOTE]
B
5
Posts: 58
Reputation: 916

Post » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:50 pm

Works OK on an iPad 2 here, but with a short first time delay since you're not preloading the audio. Have you tried changing the URL in case the offline cache is causing problems?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:46 pm

Hi Ashley, I will add a preload to the test app..
I was thinking the same thing about my offline cache, so I
added a date version text to the test game so I could tell if
the iPad was loading my latest version.

My current date was 1-25-2013.

I will add a preloader, and change the date.
Also, I'm glad to hear you got a sound on an iPad.
I will keep trying. Is your iPad iOS 6.0 ???

I will keep you posted, and thank you again for all your help..

When I get this resolved, I will create a tutorial to help new users
and post a simple test game to check the audio settings.
B
5
Posts: 58
Reputation: 916

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:05 am

Hi Ashley, you are correct, my test game DOES work on an iPOD and an older iPAD that I have tested now..

I will test it further on more Apple devices, however, my personal iPad still does not play the sound and I am wondering if there are any reports of this problem with the iOS 6.0 release?

The 2 Apple devices I tested OK with are both older OS versions.
B
5
Posts: 58
Reputation: 916

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:34 pm

@balistrerinick - the iPad it does not work on probably has got stuck with an offline cache of a version that doesn't work (before you set your server up properly perhaps). By changing the URL, you force the browser to use a fresh cache. So try calling the folder on your server test2 or something and check again.

Closing as this is probably just a stuck cache issue
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests