Power Ups Menu

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:36 pm

Hi guys,

For a game design class my group is making an endless runner game, and it is all going well, the only problem we are having is that we want to have a menu where you can go in and change options in the game. So if you select double jump or two times coins it will be the only option that you will have. So is there a way to make it so that if I select something in one lay out it changes it in another?

Thank you!
B
2
Posts: 3
Reputation: 156

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:45 pm

Should be relatively easy..
You could for example use global variables, a dictionary object or an array (set to global)..
All you'd have to do in the other layout is check this in a condition and add actions accordingly..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:55 pm

If you could give me an example that would be great.
B
2
Posts: 3
Reputation: 156

Post » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:24 am

I'm not really sure what kind of example..

on one layout set global variable

on other layout add a condition checking the global variable

so something like
normally variable coinmultiplier = 1

on the menu layout:
on button pressed
> set variable to 2

on the game layout

on collision with coin
> add coinmultiplier*10 to coins
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], PauloMarcio, Phacanu and 3 guests