Preloading images? FPS issue

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:44 pm

Note this thread is out of date; we implemented preloading in canvas 2D via a hack, so even canvas 2D browsers like Safari should preload images layout-by-layout without loading anything during the game. So I am doubtful image loading is still causing any issues you're having.

Splitting up animations will have no effect whatsoever; if a sprite object is on a layout, the preloader will load every animation frame for it. As I said earlier in the thread I still strongly recommend you don't use such long animations, since it can be extremely wasteful for devices with limited RAM, like mobiles. We get a lot of support requests from people with "broken" games, when all they've done is given the device more images than it can fit in memory.Ashley2013-03-28 13:44:49
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:43 pm

Is it not possible to show memory consumption somewhere in Construct 2?

It would probably save a lot of headaches if people could see just how much memory is being consumed.
B
7
S
2
G
3
Posts: 28
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:11 pm

Construct 2 shows an estimate in the status bar in the latest builds. At runtime some browsers can show you WebGL memory use, in Firefox you can check in about:memory IIRC.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sun Aug 03, 2014 10:05 am

Since images are loaded layout-by-layout my game "freezes" for some seconds, when switching layouts.
Is there a way to show the loading progress, or to enforce loading all images on game-start?
Last edited by Waog on Sun Aug 03, 2014 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
7
S
1
G
1
Posts: 10
Reputation: 427

Post » Sun Aug 03, 2014 11:51 am

having same problem ... on ios for iphone 4 ... i dont understand why iphone 4 can run other complicated game with heavy animation on appstore (see a lot of 3d game on appstore it run normally) and my simple game is go to slow down
B
31
S
7
G
1
Posts: 643
Reputation: 3,258

Post » Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:00 am

is using scale inner or outer cause that ? (personnaly i'm using scale inner and centrate / ajust the game)
B
31
S
7
G
1
Posts: 643
Reputation: 3,258

Post » Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:58 pm

it will be better if you include preloading all sprites (including frames) and sounds on starting of the game
B
31
S
7
G
1
Posts: 643
Reputation: 3,258

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rexrainbow, Yahoo [Bot], yonffi and 12 guests