Previewing large projects

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat May 02, 2015 3:04 pm

Does anyone have problems with previewing large projects?
I am getting a red bar on chrome, nw and ie, if i remove a few animations it works fine.
At first i was able to get around this by refreshing (F5) while loading a few times, now even that doesn't work.
After exporting, the project runs fine, project size is 360mb and will be much bigger later on.

I am also getting a bunch of

Error loading image 'http://localhost:50000/actor_sternhart-walk7-000.png': Eventbubbles: falsecancelBubble: falsecancelable: falsecurrentTarget: nulldefaultPrevented: falseeventPhase: 0path: Array[1]returnValue: truesrcElement: nulltarget: nulltimeStamp: 1430579124681type: "error"__proto__: Eventimg_.onerror @ preview.js:1594

In the console.
Image
B
71
S
28
G
12
Posts: 515
Reputation: 12,284

Post » Sat May 02, 2015 3:53 pm

@Ashley

I believe this is caused by the amount of files in my project, there are many animation frames, the whole project is currently 7200 files, but that's only when previewing, after exporting into sprite sheets it goes down to 500, i doubt i'll go over a thousand files after sprite sheeting for the whole project.

But this makes it impossible for me to continue working on the project, exporting each time for testing is not an option, i am open to any other suggestion!..?

Maybe disable loading of files in other layouts i am not currently using or adding sprite sheeting to preview (created once images are update and not on every preview).

Really anything that will help me continue working will be most appreciated!
Image
B
71
S
28
G
12
Posts: 515
Reputation: 12,284

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 12:51 am

What kind of game ?
Huge animation frames definitely will slow your game.
Image
B
60
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 9,155

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 5:55 am

It's a point and click adventure game, designed for PC and the performance is great, you can see it on our video blog here:
http://indiana-jones-and-the-fate-of-at ... ition.com/
Image
B
71
S
28
G
12
Posts: 515
Reputation: 12,284

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 7:25 am

I hate to derail the thread but it looks like you're committing some serious copyright infringement. Probably not a good idea to put a lot of effort in a game like this unless you're *sure* you'll get the rights.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 7:28 am

Disney is aware of our project, but it's not approved yet, we're making a demo and sending it to them, it can go either way and we might be working for nothing, but we do this out of love for the game so we don't mind.

I am actually working on another original point and click adventure based on the same project structure, so either way i would run into this again.
Image
B
71
S
28
G
12
Posts: 515
Reputation: 12,284

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 11:50 am

It's nice to see more big C2 projects! Congrats on pushing its limits.

Regarding your issue, some of us have the same problem with node webkit. (red loading bar on random ressources if there is more more than around +400 files).
https://github.com/nwjs/nw.js/issues/33 ... t-88213231
I never had the same issue on chrome preview, but you seem to use way more ressources than everyone here.

it would be interesting to know if it's C2 or chromium related. Would you be keen to send your project to @Ashley ?
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 12:06 pm

It happens on IE too, so it's defiantly not chrome related, on the other hand it's not necessarily a C2 issue, but i believe it can be addressed and overcome in C2, with resource management.
I think it might be caused by too many simultaneously ajax request, or just a too large total number of resources.

I wouldn't mind making a capx for Ashely to test on, but this can be easily reproduced by just adding lots of animations and frames, it also happens when i strip down the project of all the events/behaviors/effects and leave just the sprite objects.
Image
B
71
S
28
G
12
Posts: 515
Reputation: 12,284

Post » Thu May 07, 2015 9:40 pm

The Windows OS itself has a limit that each process can only load about 10,000 objects. Each image file counts as one. In my research all I could find was a blog post by a Microsoft engineer saying "10,000 should be enough for anyone" :P

We did not know about this before making C2, so it is very difficult to do anything about it. The only workaround is to move spritesheeting in to the editor instead of only upon exporting, but this is an architectural change which I think we will only be able to take in to account for C3. Alternatively all you can do is refactor your project to use fewer images, or rely on a slower export-to-preview cycle. I must say 7000+ is an extraordinary amount of images and usually this means you're doing something incredibly inefficient, like making 50 variations of a 100-frame animation, each with small changes. That is usually unnecessary and you can find another way to get the same result without thousands of frames.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240

Post » Thu May 07, 2015 11:21 pm

Ashley wrote:In my research all I could find was a blog post by a Microsoft engineer saying "10,000 should be enough for anyone" :P

Wow. "64 kilobytes of system memory should be enough for anyone" - Bill Gates in the 80's. MS does not learn :P

Ashley wrote:We did not know about this before making C2, so it is very difficult to do anything about it. The only workaround is to move spritesheeting in to the editor instead of only upon exporting, but this is an architectural change which I think we will only be able to take in to account for C3.

That would make me very happy.
B
38
S
16
G
6
Posts: 537
Reputation: 7,582

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Litoghvgvgv and 3 guests