Pro tip: Open C3 in app mode.

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:33 pm

I wont be using chrome for anything except C3. So here's a tip on how to create an app shortcut that takes you directly to C3 editor in app mode.

For PC (Easy Way)
Edit: Added the easy way suggested by @jonathanw12
1. Go to editor.construct.net
2. Click the 3 dots in top right corner.
3. Select more tools > add to desktop. (open as window)


For PC - if you want to use more advanced command line switches.
1. Create a new shortcut on your desktop.
2. Click browse to locate chrome.
(usually in "C:\program files\google\crhome\applications\chrome.exe)
3. add. '--app=http://editor.construct.net' after the file location.
4. Link should look like this: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --app=http://editor.construct.net
5. Click next and name the shortcut. (You can probably add your customized icon as well)

wholla! now you can use C3 in app mode, without annoying address bars etc.


For MAC using script editor
Mac doesn't support creating an icon the easy way like on PC, or adding command line switches to aliases and shortcuts, but you can create your own launch script.

1. Open Script editor.
2. Paste this.
Code: Select all
do shell script "/Applications/Google\\ Chrome.app/Contents/MacOS/Google\\ Chrome --app=http://editor.construct.net & killall applet"

3. File > Save ... chose file format as application and save to desktop or where you want.
4. Double click this icon to run C3 in appmode.

To change the icon to C3 icon you can use this Method.
https://support.apple.com/kb/PH19073?locale=en_US/

Files to use for icon can be found here: (I picked out 3 suitable icons from the official press kit)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/temo790mlxnxjhs/C3_icon.zip?dl=0

or in the full Press kit here:
https://www.construct.net/mt/downloads/press-kit.zip

Here's a link to a nice tool for creating icon files if needed. Thanks for the link @skozax
https://iconverticons.com/online


Linux:
google-chrome --app=http://editor.construct.net


Other useful chrome command line switches can be found here:
http://www.ghacks.net/2013/10/06/list-useful-google-chrome-command-line-switches/
or here
http://peter.sh/experiments/chromium-command-line-switches/

Enjoy and have fun!
Last edited by tunepunk on Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:43 am, edited 15 times in total.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,055
Reputation: 14,019

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:55 pm

There is an easy way to autogenerate the link and add it to the desktop for this as well. Click the three dots at the top right, click more tools and click add to desktop.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 392

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:03 pm

jonathanw12 wrote:There is an easy way to autogenerate the link and add it to the desktop for this as well. Click the three dots at the top right, click more tools and click add to desktop.


Ahhh that was easy ....including icon and everything. ;) you learn new things every day.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,055
Reputation: 14,019

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:09 pm

Thanks!
B
58
S
18
G
13
Posts: 447
Reputation: 10,740

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:13 pm

Yeah, I did that too.
But I thought this was a common thing.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
66
S
22
G
90
Posts: 1,125
Reputation: 60,011

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:15 pm

chadorireborn wrote:Yeah, I did that too.
But I thought this was a common thing.


That's cause you're such a pro. Persona FTW!
B
25
S
12
G
11
Posts: 260
Reputation: 7,923

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:18 pm

'--kiosk' mode can also be used instead off '--app' for pure fullscreen. Removes titlebar and taskbar completely. Not very user friendly in my opinion but maybe good for those with a second screen, or recording tutorials.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,055
Reputation: 14,019

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:20 pm

Bleenx wrote:
chadorireborn wrote:Yeah, I did that too.
But I thought this was a common thing.


That's cause you're such a pro. Persona FTW!


No, I'm not a pro. I'm just an intermediate. There was a tutorial about this for your apps in chrome.
For easy preview. :roll: :? I'm just surprised that's all.
Last edited by chadorireborn on Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
66
S
22
G
90
Posts: 1,125
Reputation: 60,011

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:21 pm

I think adding it to desktop through the More Tools menu is much easier and looks like an app when you launch it. Good job typing all that though! :D
B
25
S
12
G
11
Posts: 260
Reputation: 7,923

Post » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:22 pm

chadorireborn wrote:
Bleenx wrote:
chadorireborn wrote:Yeah, I did that too.
But I thought this was a common thing.


That's cause you're such a pro. Persona FTW!


No, I'm not a pro. I'm just an intermediate. There was a tutorial about this for your apps in chrome.
For easy preview. :?


I was kiddin' ya, Chidori Yoshino :)
B
25
S
12
G
11
Posts: 260
Reputation: 7,923

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests